Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I wanted to change this recipe to be a little less caloricly dense and get a bit more fiber. I subbed in splenda for the two cups of sugar, fat free plain yogurt Instead of regular, and did half and half all purpose flour and whole wheat flour. I also used extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I like an extra lemon kick also so I added a teaspoon of lemon extract along with the recommended amount of juice. I also cut back the poppy seeds to 1/2 cup. I also cooked it in a decorative bunt pan for kicks. Everything turned out great. Of course it will not taste exactly like the original recipe, but it is a good start to a more spot one low-cal replication. My friends and family enjoyed it. Next time I will try a bit more lemon extract and probably a half a cup less splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
this was easy, and tasted great! I did add less sugar,however it was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and it made 11 muffins. I used vegetable oil instead of butter (reduced amount as other reviewers did) and upped the amount of yogurt (also like other reviewers). The taste is lovely and my picky three year olds loved them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a really great recipe, I will definitely make it again! The yogurt was a nice touch. I added a little more yogurt, more lemon juice, and less poppyseeds per the other suggestions. Also used half wheat flour and half white flour and still turned out well. Would be great with a glaze on top. Kudos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They were good. I couldnt taste the lemon, but they were still good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
As a bread it was a sad failure...and I dont think I did anything wrong...but I also put it into tiny muffin tins to make mini muffins, and except for not greasing the pan enough (it has to be heavily greased) they turned out fine. I think I'll make them again. (And the batter is soooooo good....it almost didnt make it to the tin....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDCarleton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Tastes great! Good lemon flavor. Nice poppy seed crunch. My family likes it! I'd like to see about modifying it to whole wheat to make it more healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is delicious! Perfect! I changed the recipe a little to make it healthier: I only used 1/4 cup of butter and I used half a cup of apple sauce instead; I also used 1.5 cups self-rising flour and 1.5 cups wheat flour; 1.5 cups brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar and I used a full cup of yogurt. I also used fresh lemon juice and rind -- not bottled lemon juice. I found that 2 medium sized lemons provided exactly the right amount of juice AND rind. I have no complaints about the lemon flavour -- it's just the right strength in my opinion. I like a present but subtle lemon flavour-- not too tart or overpowering. Baked it for 50 minutes -- it was quite dark on the outside (not burnt at all, though, just very golden), but I checked it at 40 and 45 minutes and it wasn't ready yet. Will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It fell in! I followed it exactly, and I'm no slack when it comes to baking, but the sucker caved in during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiemommaZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States