Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
4 stars with the recommendations for the yogurt and butter. I did swap out the butter for unsweetened applesauce. Even though I used lemon flavored yogurt, the lemon flavor was too subtle. I added 1 tsp of lemon extract. The DH gave it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Everyone loved this cake (I baked it in a bundt pan). After reading some reviews, I too used 1c yoghurt and 1/2c butter. I reduced the poppy seeds down to 40g, and thought that was a perfect amount. Next time I'm going to add a bit more lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I hit at work. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very good, I used more lemon zest and added a tablespoon of lemon juise, think I will add more next time as I thought it could be more "lemony". My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was great. Next time I will add more zest for more of a lemon flavour. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and upped the yogurt to 1 cup. I think this would be really great with a lemon glaze on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I just baked this today. It is SO good. I substituted mixed berry yogurt for the plain and only baked for 42 minutes, but those are the only changes. I am not a huge lemon fan, so this bread was perfect for me. Not too tangy. I will definitely keep this recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
simply great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
If you are looking for a poppy seed bread recipe that is more like "bread", not cake, this is it. I use 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda and I add a 1/4 cup of lemon yogurt to the plain yogurt, decrease baking time to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I made these with whole wheat flour and sucanat (organic brown sugar) and made them into mini muffins and baked for 12-15 min. I only bought 1 lemon and found to get 3 tbsp of lemon zest you need at least 2 lemons. Had pretty good flavor but I think with the lemon zest from another lemon it would be even better. I also only used about 1/4 cup of poppy seeds, 1/2 cup would have been too much. Also used 1 cup of yogurt and only 1/2 cup butter as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States