Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I decreased the butter and increased the yogurt (used fat free, which wasn't a problem). I also used a lemon glaze. I omitted the poppy seeds out of personal preference. It was moist and flavorful, but just not lemony enough for me. Maybe I need to use more lemon juice and zest next time. If there was just some way to get the glaze IN and THROUGHOUT the bread. The kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My first lemon poppy seed loaf turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
MMMMmmmmmmm so good. I just finished making these and I made them as muffins and baked for 20 min. they were done perfect. The only changes I made were to reduce the poppyseeds to 1/4 cup as per other reviews and that was plenty also added 1 tsp. lemon extract. Also I made the vanilla glaze recipe and topped it with that. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good. I have made it several times and it is always hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I tried several recipes and this is the best. Thanks IRENED! I was looking for a lemon loaf recipe that did not require extracts (almond, lemon, vanilla, etc) but simply lemon rind and juice, and I found it here. I did not change any ingredient or amount. My only change/suggestion is that if you want a lighter/fluffier loaf you should separate eggs - the yolks are added to the sugar/butter batter and the whites are whipped (to add air to the mix) and folded in just to incorporate at the end (when everything is already mixed)(do not overmix after you add the whites, otherwise this procedure has no purpose).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very tasty! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and substituted 1/2 the butter with strawberry yogurt like another reviewer did, and it came out perfect! Too many poppy seeds for me though, and I agree with the subtle lemon flavor that another reviewer said, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
4 stars with the recommendations for the yogurt and butter. I did swap out the butter for unsweetened applesauce. Even though I used lemon flavored yogurt, the lemon flavor was too subtle. I added 1 tsp of lemon extract. The DH gave it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Everyone loved this cake (I baked it in a bundt pan). After reading some reviews, I too used 1c yoghurt and 1/2c butter. I reduced the poppy seeds down to 40g, and thought that was a perfect amount. Next time I'm going to add a bit more lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I hit at work. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States