Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I like the suggestion to cut the butter and add more yogurt - will try next time. I made the mistake of making less than half the recipe, and it was too small. Nice flavor though. I think next time I'll add more lemon juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Seriously delightful recipe! I made 12 jumbo muffins, and had plenty of batter. It bakes up really light and lemony, great texture, not heavy like pound cake. Moist, sweet, delish! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I tried out this recipe this morning- it took a while to prepare and put together, but 10 minutes after it was put in the oven the apartment smelled like lemon-cream. It was delicious! Unlike many people that reviewed this recipe- I followed it to a T. I figure its better to try it, and then make adjustments that I see fit. I DID notice that it took longer than the 50 minutes in the oven, the middle was still liquid-y when I checked it at 45min. I left it in for a bit over an hour, then was scared that the edges would be a little burnt. We've enjoyed a slice already since then- it was beautiful. Im just hoping it doesnt dry out too quickly- if it does, dont worry- I'll let you know!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I halved the recipe to make one 9.x5" tin (tins what we call them in the UK) - I found the cake a little small actually - but that aside it was a lovely recipe - will def make again. Followed ingredient quantities to a T. A tad sweet for me, but others said it wasn't too sweet. I think the yoghurt is key for the moistness. I might try it with 50g less sugar next time....all that said. Very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
It was beautiful to look at, but for some reason mine had almost no lemon flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaBakes4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My husband and family really enjoyed this!! Even without the poppyseads. (where can I buy them???) I made this in mini-loaves (8) and baked them for 1/2 an hour. Will be making again as soon as strawberries are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very moist and was a huge hit at church coffee hour. I added and extra 1 tsp. of lemon extract, but it still wasn't lemony enough for my taste buds. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
It was a little dry. i changed things up used shaved chocolate instead of poppyseed, and added some Vanilla. Next time i will add 1/2c more yogourt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
made a bit more than i expected. very yummy, though. i added slivered almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
i made 12 large muffins and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY. i substituted half of the butter for applesauce to make it healthier. I also used lemon AND lime juice since i didnt have enough lemons. these muffins freeze really well...i would definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States