Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Moist and lemon-y ... exactly what I was looking for! I wanted a distinct lemon flavor, so after reading other reviews, I used the zest of 3 large lemons, along with their juice (equalling almost 1 cup of lemon juice). I also dusted the bottom of my pans with white sugar, so that they would have a sweet crust. My loaves were perfectly done in 40 minutes, so you might want to keep an eye on them towards the end of baking. A fantastic recipe! Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Super lemon poppy loaf...and I have tried a few. Lemon flavor was just right and it went very well with the Microwave Lemon Curd (recipe from Allrecipe.com). Highly recommend it...no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Adana, Adana, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. My favorite sweet bread by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Excellent loaf. Followed recipe exactly but subsituted yogurt for low-fat sour cream. I used 1/4 cup of poppy seeds but could have even used slightly less. Cake came out light and fluffy - Half way through baking I placed foil over loaves to prevent over browning. Highly recommend trying this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
One word, beautiful. So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Like other members, I also cut the butter down to half a cup and upped the yogurt to one cup. Though I baked this in two round cake tins. When they were cool, I spread a lemon glaze (1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, zest of one lemon, 3-4 tablespoons lemon juice and a little water) over the top of the bottom layer, put down the top layer and drizzled the remaining glaze. Great cake with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MDRIDDLE
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! A perfect compliment to a cup of coffee or hot tea. I used lemon flavored yogurt instead of plain and it had just the right amount of lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is good, but I wish it had more lemon flavor. I even added some lemon extract. But it was still good. I used half whole wheat pasty flour and half applesauce for the oil. I made half the batch into mini muffins (24) and my kids just ate them up- they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I like the suggestion to cut the butter and add more yogurt - will try next time. I made the mistake of making less than half the recipe, and it was too small. Nice flavor though. I think next time I'll add more lemon juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Seriously delightful recipe! I made 12 jumbo muffins, and had plenty of batter. It bakes up really light and lemony, great texture, not heavy like pound cake. Moist, sweet, delish! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States