Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious!! Made exactly as is but I added 3/4 tsp of lemon extract. NOTE: you need two lemons for this recipe to get the 1/2 cup and 3 tbsp of rind. And it takes 20 minutes to make the muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
luv luv luv this recipe, i followed it as is and luv the outcome. It was moist and deliciously zesty. Will definitely do it again. Yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I was so excited about this recipe, I did all as required and baked for 50 minutes but it wasnt ready. I baked even more - for 1 hour in total, the sides are brown but inside seems too raw and sticky, also it tastes really dry and too sour. I also put only 30 gr of poppy seeds but it still seems too much. I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimanta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very tasty, I would just cut back the poppy seeds to about 2 tbsp next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Taking the advice of other reviewers, I used 1/2 c. butter, 1 c. yogurt & quite a bit of extra lemon zest. The result was a very crumbly, overly sweet muffin with barely a hint of lemon. Having already promised to take these to a gathering, I had no choice but to try to quickly improve them, so I mixed some lemon liqueur with powdered sugar to make a glaze, hoping it'd improve the flavor (or would at least make the tasters tipsy enough not to notice the crumbly texture). The glaze helped a bit, but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I found this to be an excellent recipe and just what I was looking for...I would like to add that some people claimed the lemon flavor was not heavy pr strong enough, adding lemon juice won't add extra flavor, the flavor is in the rind or zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Gajausky-Wicheranko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Gone in 20 minutes! Absolutely delicious! I made no changes to the recipe at all, but baked it as a bundt for an hour and glazed with the following: Ingredients 1/4 cup lemon juice 1/2 cup water 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup water 2 tablespoons corn starch Heat lemon juice and 1/2 cup of water until simmering Slowly add sugar, stirring until it dissolves Separately, mix cornstarch and 1/4 cup of water until smooth Slowly add flour/water mix to lemon juice, stirring Cook for about 4 minutes to let glaze thicken, stirring occasionally Let cool and pour over cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiltswinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great basic recipe. I made muffins and topped with lemon glaze (lemon juice & confectioners sugar). My muffins fell, though, and I'm not sure why. Yes, they were baked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Nice texture, little dry, not enough lemon flavour. I think i'll try adding lemon instant pudding next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
As per other reviews, I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and increased yogurt to 1 cup. I also didn't use 1/2 cup poppy seeds as I felt it would be too much. Very good and moist, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States