Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good. I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce, 6 egg whites, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour, greek yogurt, fresh lemons and 1/4 cup poppy seeds (1/2 would have been too much, I think). Next time I will add a little more applesauce to make it more moist but it was delicious regardless. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very tasty but a bit too sweet for my taste. Next time I do this recipe, I will cut the sugar to 1 cup only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Just made this recipe. I, too used 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup yogurt. I used all the poppy seed called for and did not find it overwhelming. I did find 50 minutes way too long to bake at my elevation. I only baked 40 minutes and it was just a bit dry but very tasty. I will definintely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Light and fluffy and delicious. I thickened up the icing slightly so it wasn't as runny. A popular choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure why this recipe has only four stars because it is so darned good. I will admit though that this is much better as two loaves than it is as a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaffan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very little lemon flavor, odd texture, and the batter fell. Threw the whole thing out and bought a lemon loaf at the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I didn't realize how many lemons you would need for this recipe, I only ended up using the zest from one lemon, and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Soooooooooo good! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used a bundt pan and increased baking time by about 40 minutes. I made a lemon juice drizzle to go on each slice as it is served. Just the right amount of lemon flavour and poppy seeds. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Not very good, crumbly and not flavourful at all. Had too pretty much re-create the recipe the second time. Not making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
EXCELLENT, GOING TO GIVE THIS AS CHRISTMAS PRESENTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States