Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
GREAT cake. It's easy to make but tastes like it came from a 5-star bakery. I'd cut down on the poppy seeds though. 1/3 cup works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this twice in the past few weeks. Everyone loved it! Once, I put half in the freezer and it came out again just fine. Don't be alarmed if the cake shrinks dramatically when you take it out of the oven - leaves plenty of room for the toppings. I used pie filling from a mix rather than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I thought this was a wonderful cake. It was light and moist. I only wish the cake itself had a bit more lemon flavor. This will be very nice on a hot summer day. Please note it takes about 5 hours to prepare not 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This recipe is great. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This cake is fantastic! I went searching for it to make for mother's day (lemon poppyseed is a favorite of hers). I normally dislike lemon anything and even I loved this cake. It was hit with the whole family. My mother liked it so much she made it the next week for her card party and has requested it for her upcoming birthday. It is moist, light and lemony. As a previous reviewer wrote - don't be alarmed when it shrinks. It will shrink significantly, but don't worry, you will need the room for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I made this for my wife's birthday. It was very easy to make, which was good since I haven't cooked anything this complicated since Reagan was prez. Seriously. Anyway, everyone really loved it. The only thing I will do next time is put less whipped topping on it, although everyone else said it was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this and took it to the school where I teach. It didn't last long! The only thing I found wrong with it was that it tended to fall apart, it was so tender and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lipan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this for a church potluck and it was gone in a flash. Yummy, easy, and makes a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I admit that I am a total snob about cake mixes however I had very little time to put together a dessert for a pot-luck dinner so ran to the store for the ingredients for this cake. It's good! I messed up and used the amount of eggs/water on the cake box (3 eggs, three quarters cup of water) which differed from the recipe but the cake was still fine. I'm not crazy about the taste of instant lemon pudding so I added a bit of fresh grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Good cake - I skipped the poppy seeds, and thought that the filling had a bit of a wang, but overall a very refreshing and light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States