Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought this cake was pretty good, but not amazing. Most of my family really enjoyed it, though, so I may make it again. If I go all out and make a cake, though, I want an amazing recipe! All in all, no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I loved this cake and so did every one in my office. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/3 c. poppy seeds, which was plenty. I also used fat free vanilla pudding and light cool whip and it turned out great. They want me to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
A nice, light finish for a heavier meal. I made this at Christmas and everyone loved it. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Ann Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this without the poppy seads and I just thought it was OK. I would have liked it the cake was more lemony and less dense. I also didn't like the fact that it had to be refrigerated for 4 hours. I think it would have been fine if the cake was served after cooling but still at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this cake for a party this weekend and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was using cherry pie filling because the grocery store did not have lemon pie filling. It turned out great and added a great flavor to it. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Possibly my favorite desert of all times. We usually make it with one of those pans that leave a dome on the inside for filling the inside of the cake after baking (they are on TV all the time) or with a bundt pan using the middle for the pie filling. Absolutely awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Made this for a friends birthday and it was great. Everyone liked ita nd wanted more.. And it was easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Good cake - I skipped the poppy seeds, and thought that the filling had a bit of a wang, but overall a very refreshing and light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schleicher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States