Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this twice in the past few weeks. Everyone loved it! Once, I put half in the freezer and it came out again just fine. Don't be alarmed if the cake shrinks dramatically when you take it out of the oven - leaves plenty of room for the toppings. I used pie filling from a mix rather than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
GREAT cake. It's easy to make but tastes like it came from a 5-star bakery. I'd cut down on the poppy seeds though. 1/3 cup works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This recipe is great. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This cake is fantastic! I went searching for it to make for mother's day (lemon poppyseed is a favorite of hers). I normally dislike lemon anything and even I loved this cake. It was hit with the whole family. My mother liked it so much she made it the next week for her card party and has requested it for her upcoming birthday. It is moist, light and lemony. As a previous reviewer wrote - don't be alarmed when it shrinks. It will shrink significantly, but don't worry, you will need the room for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I made this for my wife's birthday. It was very easy to make, which was good since I haven't cooked anything this complicated since Reagan was prez. Seriously. Anyway, everyone really loved it. The only thing I will do next time is put less whipped topping on it, although everyone else said it was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this for a church potluck and it was gone in a flash. Yummy, easy, and makes a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Made this for a friends birthday and it was great. Everyone liked ita nd wanted more.. And it was easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Possibly my favorite desert of all times. We usually make it with one of those pans that leave a dome on the inside for filling the inside of the cake after baking (they are on TV all the time) or with a bundt pan using the middle for the pie filling. Absolutely awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this cake for a party this weekend and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was using cherry pie filling because the grocery store did not have lemon pie filling. It turned out great and added a great flavor to it. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States