Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
GREAT cake. It's easy to make but tastes like it came from a 5-star bakery. I'd cut down on the poppy seeds though. 1/3 cup works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This cake is fantastic! I went searching for it to make for mother's day (lemon poppyseed is a favorite of hers). I normally dislike lemon anything and even I loved this cake. It was hit with the whole family. My mother liked it so much she made it the next week for her card party and has requested it for her upcoming birthday. It is moist, light and lemony. As a previous reviewer wrote - don't be alarmed when it shrinks. It will shrink significantly, but don't worry, you will need the room for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this twice in the past few weeks. Everyone loved it! Once, I put half in the freezer and it came out again just fine. Don't be alarmed if the cake shrinks dramatically when you take it out of the oven - leaves plenty of room for the toppings. I used pie filling from a mix rather than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I thought this was a wonderful cake. It was light and moist. I only wish the cake itself had a bit more lemon flavor. This will be very nice on a hot summer day. Please note it takes about 5 hours to prepare not 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I loved this cake and so did every one in my office. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/3 c. poppy seeds, which was plenty. I also used fat free vanilla pudding and light cool whip and it turned out great. They want me to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I must be missing something!! I thought it was odd that the recipe calls for 3.4oz package of pudding when the grocery store sells 1oz or 1.5 oz. But I went with it anyway and bought 3 small boxes of vanilla and 3 small boxes of lemon. I mixed the cake mix and thought it was a bit thick. oh well. But then making the 'mousse' I figured something is NOT right. 3 boxes of pudding with 1 cup of milk of coarse makes paste. 'Fold' in whipped topping?? Not happening! Just made a less thicker paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this recently for my grandmother's birthday. The cake was AMAZING and got rave reviews from everyone. Someone even thought I had bought it at the go-to bakery in town... it was just that good! I did cut the poppyseed down to 1/3 c., but otherwise made as directed. I'll definitely revisit this recipe many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This cake was a HUGE hit with my family....I made it last year for Easter and they have demanded I make it again. I made this into a layer cake putting the lemon pie filling in between the two round cakes then cool whip mix on top. I garnished the top with lemon wedges and blackberries....was so pretty and springy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day and my mom and family loved it and was asked for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States