Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this without the poppy seads and I just thought it was OK. I would have liked it the cake was more lemony and less dense. I also didn't like the fact that it had to be refrigerated for 4 hours. I think it would have been fine if the cake was served after cooling but still at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this cake for a party this weekend and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was using cherry pie filling because the grocery store did not have lemon pie filling. It turned out great and added a great flavor to it. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Possibly my favorite desert of all times. We usually make it with one of those pans that leave a dome on the inside for filling the inside of the cake after baking (they are on TV all the time) or with a bundt pan using the middle for the pie filling. Absolutely awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Made this for a friends birthday and it was great. Everyone liked ita nd wanted more.. And it was easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Good cake - I skipped the poppy seeds, and thought that the filling had a bit of a wang, but overall a very refreshing and light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I admit that I am a total snob about cake mixes however I had very little time to put together a dessert for a pot-luck dinner so ran to the store for the ingredients for this cake. It's good! I messed up and used the amount of eggs/water on the cake box (3 eggs, three quarters cup of water) which differed from the recipe but the cake was still fine. I'm not crazy about the taste of instant lemon pudding so I added a bit of fresh grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this for a church potluck and it was gone in a flash. Yummy, easy, and makes a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this and took it to the school where I teach. It didn't last long! The only thing I found wrong with it was that it tended to fall apart, it was so tender and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lipan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States