Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
it's delicious. I found the pudding in the 3.4 ounce size. Everyone requests this cake at every function. birthdays, etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I couldn't find canned lemon pie filling so I used a box. I took this to a potluck. Several people said they would give it a 4, but I just don't think it rates 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I liked this cake alot. I served it to 12 gals for Bunco. Half loved it, but me and the other gals thought the lemon filling was too much. I agree> The cool whip frosting was so delicious and the cake so moist I think it took away from the taste. I will make again, probably leave off filling, or maybe cut cake in half and lightly layer the filling there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I've made this cake 3 times--once as written, once making the cake with 1/3 c oil, 1 cup water and 2 TBS. poppy seeds (I always use Duncan Hines cake mixes), replaced canned lemon pie filling with 1 large (cook kind) lemon pudding mix and the same frosting and once with a Yellow Cake mix, instant lemon pudding, 1/3 c oil, 1 cup water and 2 TBS. poppy seeds, replaced canned lemon pie filling with 1 large (cook kind) lemon pudding mix and the same frosting. They're all great (and easy). I'll continue to use less oil, water and poppy seeds and replace the the canned pie filling with 1 large Jello Brand Lemon (cook kind) Pudding Mix and use the same frosting mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
SUPER-moist cake, topping OK - everybody LOVED IT!!! I will definitely be making this again, but perhaps without the whipped topping/lemon mousse on top. Could I use real whipped cream instead? Maybe that would taste better than the CoolWhip (regular) that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wonderful Summer cake. Made exactly as recipe stated. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I must be missing something!! I thought it was odd that the recipe calls for 3.4oz package of pudding when the grocery store sells 1oz or 1.5 oz. But I went with it anyway and bought 3 small boxes of vanilla and 3 small boxes of lemon. I mixed the cake mix and thought it was a bit thick. oh well. But then making the 'mousse' I figured something is NOT right. 3 boxes of pudding with 1 cup of milk of coarse makes paste. 'Fold' in whipped topping?? Not happening! Just made a less thicker paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this recently for my grandmother's birthday. The cake was AMAZING and got rave reviews from everyone. Someone even thought I had bought it at the go-to bakery in town... it was just that good! I did cut the poppyseed down to 1/3 c., but otherwise made as directed. I'll definitely revisit this recipe many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day and my mom and family loved it and was asked for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Tried to make as bundt cake but didn't work, ended up cutting up cake and using lemon and topping as layers in cups like a trifle. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States