Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
While I prefer a less moist cake and generally bake from scratch, every time I make this people love it and ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have never made a bundt cake but this was very easy and delicious. Everyone loved this cake! I added a glaze on top which topped it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is really good for a cake mix recipe--normally I'm not a cake mix fan, but I needed something quick and easy, so I tried this, and it was really good. I did soak the poppy seeds and they were less crunchy, and I did use the full amount and thought it was fine. I also used lemon pudding mix, and I definitely wouldn't use anything else---if you're making a lemon cake, make a lemon cake. I made a powdered sugar and lemon juice icing and put over it while warm and recommend this as well. Very easy and good and my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
BIG HIT WITH THE FAMILY! Very moist! I used lemon flavoured pudding mix as some others have suggested and halved the poppy seed count. Other than that, I used a simple glaze of milk and confectioner's sugar - totally yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very good! I also used lemon pudding mix. I used the juice of one lemon then filled the measuring cup of juice to one cup with water. I didn't have time to soak the poppyseeds and I don't think it made a difference. Had to use an angel food cake pan too, since I don't have a bundt pan but it was fine. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, lemon extract, and milk for the topping... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This cake was good however I tweeked it a bit to my liking. I used the lemon pudding instead of vanilla. If you wasnt vanilla you should use vanilla cake...I also cut back a bit on the poppyseeds. I think that 1/4 cup is too much. I also made a glaze for the top of it with powdered sugar, lemon juice and water and added sliced almonds to the top of it. It was very pretty. Oh, I forgot I also added a bit of almond flavor to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This cake is AWESOME! My husband said it's the best cake he's ever eaten -- and he doesn't even like lemon or poppyseeds. Only changes I made were applesauce for 1/2 of the oil and added about 2 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is really good! I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla, as well as 1/2 cup egg beaters and 2 eggs, skim milk and unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. My rejects-everything-low-fat boyfriend could not tell a difference (and I didn't tell him)! Very moist, fairly healthy ;o) - and not at all too lemony. In fact, I added a glaze of powdered sugar, lemon juice and milk to the top while still warm and it helped tremendously and made it that much more special! Will definitely make again when I'm in the market for a lemon poppy seed cake or muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My young kids cannot get enough of this. My little family of four eats this easily in one day. Changes: I substitute applesauce for the oil and egg whites for 2 of the eggs. Definitely add lemon pudding instead of vanilla. Then I generously glaze it with lemon juice/ powdered sugar mix. I also never have time to soak the seeds for very long at all, but still add the milk. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
YUMMY!! This is very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States