Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I live in the dorms..so my resources are limited. I used the dry ingredients from a recipe for cake, I used lemon pudding. I didn't want to spend two hours creating poppy seed so i let it simmer in milk in a pan while i put together the other ingredients. also i used melted butter and oil... not all my choices were great, but i really stand by using scrath cake than mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Use lemon pudding rather than vanilla, and glaze with a mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar to take this recipe to 5 stars. Have made this several times and am asked for the recipe repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My husband, who normally rarely eats dessert, loves this cake. The only thing I change is that I add a dash of lemon essence to the cake mix and then do a lemon juice/butter/iccing sugar glaze. It has become a staple around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSLUV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Landrum, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe many times and for my family's taste, I reduce the poppy seeds to 2 tablespoons and add 1 teaspoon of lemon zest. I don't bother soaking the poppy seeds because I find it makes no difference to the final product. I also top the inverted cake with a glaze of 1 cup of icing sugar (powdered sugar) and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to a cooled cake so that it drools down the indentations. Pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Westport, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Excellent! My daughter who is 6 normally doesn't like anything with lemon in it, loved this cake. My husband and myself liked it because it was best after sitting for a day. My oldest son loved it and normally loves sugary sweet things so it was a great cake for the enitre family. I did substitute lemon pudding mix for the vanilla and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
9/1/08: My husband and kids have raved over this cake since I first made it. I have also made it for friends and family and they all love it as well. The only changes that I made were to omit the poppy seeds (could not find any) and I added 1/4 cup lemon juice to the batter. I used the glaze recommended on the reviews and its soooo good. This is a keeper in our family. To make the glaze I used 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 1/4 cup-1/2 cup lemon juice. UPDATE: 12/15/08: I have made this recipe so many times. It is a definite favorite in our house and I have been asked for the recipe as well. I have since changed how I make this to make it a little less moist. I think after making this several times 2 TBS of Lemon Juice to the batter is plenty and I use 1/4 cup Oil with no problems. I also use Lemon Pudding Mix instead of Vanilla. I have made the glaze using less and its still really good. 1/2 cup Powdered sugar 1/4 cup lemon juice works well together poured over the cake. I did also incorporate the Poppy Seeds this time & love that in there. Thank you so very much again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I just made cupcake with this recipe and they turned out great! I made a few adjustments to lower the fat and it did nothing but make it more moist and amazing. I subbed the oil for apple sauce, used fat free milk and added only 1 whole egg and 3 egg whites. I also glazed them with a milk, powdered sugar and lemon juice mixture. So light and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Some alterations I made are: replace eggs with egg substitute and replace all the oil with an equal amount of applesauce and I used lemon pudding mix instead of vanilla. I also added lemon zest of one lemon. The result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made these into muffins along with a variety of others. The Lemon Poppy Seed were a definite favorite! After cooling for about 10 mins I made a glaze with the juice from two large lemons and approx 3/4 C Pwd Sugar (stirred in slowly). These are DE-LISH! And I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Made it today for my son's 10th birthday (at his request) and it was extremely easy and very delicious! I made the alteration to lemon pudding, baked it for only 50 minutes and finished it with a basic powdered sugar/milk/vanilla extract glaze - YUM! Next time I'm going to do a lemon glaze, as I think that will enhance it even more. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States