Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very moist and delicious. I substituted apple sauce for the oil and made muffins. I lined and then filled the muffin tins 3/4 full. It made 24 muffins.They didnt rise very high but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewel-icious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My family and guests raved over this cake, however, being a lover of lemon poppy seed cake, I found it to be just ok...it's possible it was my cake mix (I used an organic kind from Whole Foods), but I didn't find it to be sweet enough. Next time I will stick with a Betty Crocker/Duncan Hines mix. I will also use lemon pudding instead of vanilla. It wasn't near lemon-y enough for my taste. I served with a lemon sorbet which helped to sweeten and add lemon flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not as I had hoped for..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORKIDECAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Moist and zippy! This recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe as written. Outstanding results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Awesome! Because we really LOVE lemon, I used lemon pudding, added some lemon zest and followed another reviewer's suggestion for a glaze. I soaked the poppyseeds and didn't reduce the amount; we found that it was just right. I baked this for a birthday and topped it with a light dusting of confectioners' sugar. This cake was moist and a whole lot less bother to make than my usual lemon poppyseed cake. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe did not come out like I expected from all the rave reviews. First of all, the recipe says to bake the cake for 60 minutes, however I checked it at 40 minutes and it was already overdone. I thought the pudding mix would add something to the cake, but the end result didn't taste any better than a plain old cake mix cake. I will keep looking for a lemon poppy seed cake recipe that suits my tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Made this exactly per the recipe. The Bundt fell a little after I turned it out onto the plate and part of the cake was "thick". Still a good cake tho and this will be eaten. I'll just try it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This cake turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very moist cake; used lemon pudding mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I too used lemon pudding mix. I just blended the poppy seeds right in and used an additional 1/4 cup lemon juice to add more moisture to relace the milk. I also only used 3 eggs. I came out nicely. I did adda glaze after baking for only 53 minutes as it tested done already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States