Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Tasted good! Quick and easy. I skipped soaking poppy seeds in milk (there is no need to!) I found it just a tad dry and I have a major sweet tooth, so I made a frosting (vanilla extract, sugar and milk) and drizzled it on top in a zig-zag pattern. It was the perfect way to dress it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELWINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Amazing!! Brought this for an Easter gathering and it was gone is seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is rated 4* because it has too many poppy seeds. You could easily cut the amount by half and still have plenty. Also the batter looked slightly runnier than it should when I finished mixing so I added about 1/4 cup more of sifted selfraising flour and this did the trick. I melted a few squirts of bottled lemon juice and some icing sugar in a saucepan and spread the glaze over the hot cake with a pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I like this cake.I will make this cake more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2
Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was great. I made it as baby bundt cakes and put a lemon glaze over it - Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra Carper
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is soooo moist!! With in a couple of hours of making it, it was half gone!! I did add a lemon glaze to it while it was hot so that it would soak in, and it was mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the batter-- great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGLEE1947

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I really liked this recipe,however I did change one thing. I don't like poppy seeds so I omitted them and the milk and frosted it with the lemon cream cheese icing recipe I found here. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very good! Moist, lemony and yummy. I didn't have vanilla pudding so I substituted lemon and it tastes wonderful. I'm not sure why the poppy seeds needed to soak in the milk - I didn't notice any significant change in them after their milk bath. I personally think that next time I make that (and there will be a next time) I'll not bother soaking the seeds. A++++ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love this cake, my husband loves it and all the adults in the neighborhood love it. We liked it so much I've made 4 in the last two weeks and none lasted more than 2 days. I followed the recipe with two exceptions. I used lemon pudding mix. I made a glaze using the juice of one orange and one lemon (large) combined with 1 1/3 cup powder sugar, combined in a sauce pan, stirred over low heat until just before boiling. After the cake has cooled 10-15 minutes I remove it from the bundt pan, pour half of the glazing into the pan, put the cake back into the pan (be careful to match up the patterns of the cake and the pan), then pour the remaining glazing on top and let it soak in. It seems like a lot of glazing, but just be patient, it will soak in. After the glazing has soaked in (about 5 minutes), remove the cake from the pan. It is lip smacking good and lemony. All my neighbors enjoy this cake. My young children (4 and 6 yr olds) like the cake but not the glazing part, I suspect they don't like the lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States