Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe was quite good, but mine was a little dry. I took it out after 40 minutes, so start checking it early! Also, I didn't find it necessary to soak the poppy seeds in milk; I just added them in plain, and only used half as many as the recipe calls for. I also added about 1 tsp. lemon zest. My guests adored this cake and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used lemon pudding- my mom always did and we think its just too bland if you use vanilla. If you want lemon cake, you should make lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Wonderfully simple and very moist! A great one to use as a base recipe & try variations with!! Thank you so much! I have already passed it on to our neighbor who enjoyed it! I only soaked poppy seeds for 20 minutes or so, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very yummy, used applesauce instead of oil! Used just half of the poppy seed too... still plenty in cake. Also made a lemon juice/confectioners sugar glaze. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clairdeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This cake was delicious! I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the oil and it was super moist and healthier! I only soaked the poppyseeds for about 10 minutes and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Good enough to rate with 5 stars, but note good enough to be listed as divine. I served this with fresh strawberries a strawberry glaze made from scratch and whipped cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Really a good recipe. I didn't have the vanilla pudding so I substituted lemon which was a little more "lemony" than to my liking, but I'm sure with the vanilla it will be perfect. My husband rates it a 5-star too. Thanks for the easy and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I love this cake! Everyone else loves it too! It's so moist. Definitely a crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This cake came out very light and moist tasting. Nice lemony flavor. I dusted it with icing sugar. Brought it to work this morning and have been asked to make it for an upcoming baby shower, to accompany a fruit tray for a light dessert. Coworkers devoured the cake, with rave reviews!!! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
An excellent, light, moist cake. I can see how some people could eat half the cake at one sitting! I did not change the recipe but did add lemon zest which was grated on a micro plane zester. Difficult to tell that the cake is from a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States