Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Excellent. I had no trouble with my dough sticking together - it was very sticky in fact! I coated my hands w/ cooking spray while I was forming the logs. I used a silpat instead of parchment paper. I followed advice of others and increased lemon extract and reduced poppyseeds by one tablespoon. I made them for mom for mother's day and she loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I guess if youre a really health concious person (like my uncle), you can tell that theyre low fat, but personally I just thought they were great cookies ^^ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I forgot to add the poppy seeds and it still turned out great. I had to use a little lemon juice and rum. Since there wasn't enough lemon flavor I coated finished product with a lemon glaze (powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Wonderful flavor! Next time I might use a bit less sugar to cut down on sweetness (and save a few calories). FYI for Weight Watchers folks -- if you make 36 biscotti, these are 1 pt. apiece. (Sorry -- in my original review I said they were 1 pt. apiece if you made 18 biscotti. My mistake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Great Biscotti if you're looking for low fat. Very hard, so needs to be dunked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
love the lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good. I made these when I had a family get together and everyone loved them. If you are good at following directions then they are pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. As previous members stated I added 6 tablespoon of lemon juice. i didnt have lemon extract. Also I added grounded up walnuts instead of almonds. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These are a bit of work to make but they are SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a very good recipe for low-fat biscotti. The cookies are very tasty and crispy, but need a little more of a lemony taste. Next time I make them, I will probably add a little lemon juice or something to boost the lemon flavor. I did drizzle the finished cookies with a glaze; I simply mixed powdered sugar with enough lemon juice to make a good glazing consistency. This boosted the lemon flavor slightly, and made them look very pretty! I also used only 2 tbs. of poppy seeds, because 3 tbs. seemed like way to much. Thanks for a tasty recipe; I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States