Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
The biscotti tased great. I did add 1/2 cup oil, however, as I could not get dough to even form into a ball to divide it in half - it was too dry. Next time I make this recipe, I think I would cut back on the poppy seeds by a tablespoon and increase the lemon extract and lemon zest as the lemon flavor got hidden by the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Because other reviewers said this wasn't lemony enough and because I didn't have any lemon extract, I added 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. I also added 1 T. of oil because I didn't want these to be rock hard. So, I had to add about 1/2 c. extra flour. I also added extra poppy seeds--maybe 1/4 c. extra. I can taste the lemon, and the biscotti are nice and crispy, without being tooth-chipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. As previous members stated I added 6 tablespoon of lemon juice. i didnt have lemon extract. Also I added grounded up walnuts instead of almonds. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've had to come back to edit this review. At first, I was pretty happy with this recipe. When I first took them out of the oven the second time, the lemon flavor was subtle but very nice. But by the next day, the flavor had faded and become unpleasant and strange.. vaguely citrusy, but it didn't meld well with the flavor of the almonds. I had made these for a friend and when I asked her if they were good, she sort of giggled and said, "Well, I wasn't going to say anything, but...." Also - I only used 1 1/2 tbsp. poppyseed and it was PLENTY. Sorry, I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I really liked these. The flavor is subtle, but good. The dough was sticky and I was able to form it into a log only by putting blobs of dough on the cookie sheet and smoothing it into log shape with wet fingers. I took another reviewers suggestion and used the leftover egg yolk to brush on the logs before baking. It probably isn't necessary, but it keeps you from wasting the yolks. You MUST use a serrated knife to slice the logs. I had no trouble with mine cracking apart. The finished biscotti are very crisp, but I wouldn't call them hard. I baked them the second time for 5 minutes on one side, turned them, and baked for 4 minutes on the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
The flavors are what you would expect in a lemon poppy muffin. But the flavors mix in a subtle way that lets each flavor pop up in turn. I'd recommend using the yolks for an egg wash. The cookies look better and it brings the yellow color of the cookies out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Excellent. I had no trouble with my dough sticking together - it was very sticky in fact! I coated my hands w/ cooking spray while I was forming the logs. I used a silpat instead of parchment paper. I followed advice of others and increased lemon extract and reduced poppyseeds by one tablespoon. I made them for mom for mother's day and she loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful biscotti recipe! As per other reviewers suggestions, I cut back the amount of poppy seeds to 1.5 tsp and used 2 tsp of Pure Lemon Extract - gives it a wonderful but not over-powering lemon flavour - PERFECT!!! I have found a secret to not handling sticky biscotti dough,as it tends to gets stcky because of the heat in your kitchen so I place my dough in the fridge for about 20-25 minutes and this helps to firm it up and can be shaped into the logs without it sticking! Works like a charm on ANY biscotti recipe that I have tried so far! I love this lemon poppy seed recipe and will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Great taste, excellent combination of flavor with a good mix of both carbohydrate and protein. Almonds are such a healthy protein. I was very disappointed in the yield. The recipe claims 36-No way cut in 1/2 inch links! May yield was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Great Biscotti if you're looking for low fat. Very hard, so needs to be dunked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States