Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2000
The flavors are what you would expect in a lemon poppy muffin. But the flavors mix in a subtle way that lets each flavor pop up in turn. I'd recommend using the yolks for an egg wash. The cookies look better and it brings the yellow color of the cookies out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
They were too dry. I had to add 1/3 cup oil just to get them to hold together. But they taste excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Great Biscotti if you're looking for low fat. Very hard, so needs to be dunked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
very good recipe except however, i was hoping for more of a lemony flavor. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
love the lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I guess if youre a really health concious person (like my uncle), you can tell that theyre low fat, but personally I just thought they were great cookies ^^ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good. I made these when I had a family get together and everyone loved them. If you are good at following directions then they are pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I forgot to add the poppy seeds and it still turned out great. I had to use a little lemon juice and rum. Since there wasn't enough lemon flavor I coated finished product with a lemon glaze (powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Wonderful flavor! Next time I might use a bit less sugar to cut down on sweetness (and save a few calories). FYI for Weight Watchers folks -- if you make 36 biscotti, these are 1 pt. apiece. (Sorry -- in my original review I said they were 1 pt. apiece if you made 18 biscotti. My mistake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
The biscotti tased great. I did add 1/2 cup oil, however, as I could not get dough to even form into a ball to divide it in half - it was too dry. Next time I make this recipe, I think I would cut back on the poppy seeds by a tablespoon and increase the lemon extract and lemon zest as the lemon flavor got hidden by the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States