Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Great taste, excellent combination of flavor with a good mix of both carbohydrate and protein. Almonds are such a healthy protein. I was very disappointed in the yield. The recipe claims 36-No way cut in 1/2 inch links! May yield was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
The dough was not a dough. I had to add two more eggs to get it to stick together. Other biscotti recipes are not a real "doughy" dough but this one just didn't form a ball at all. I added the extra egg and a few tablespoons of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These were the first biscotti I have ever made. They turned out pretty well, considering the simplicity of the recipe and absence of fat. I used 2 whole jumbo eggs, brown sugar, unbleached flour, ground poppy seeds, and freshly squeezed lemon juice instead of lemon extract. Also added a bit of almond extract. I sprayed the wax paper with a little oil to prevent sticking. The recipe doesn't specify dimensions of the logs, so I improvised and made mine about 3" wide and 10-12" long. Baked them for 25 mins, not 30 to prevent burning, and for another 5-7 mins once sliced. The lemon flavor is very faint but, overall, the biscotti are crunchy and enjoyable. However, if you're looking for that rich, buttery flavor many "authentic" biscotti have, you might be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Excellent. I had no trouble with my dough sticking together - it was very sticky in fact! I coated my hands w/ cooking spray while I was forming the logs. I used a silpat instead of parchment paper. I followed advice of others and increased lemon extract and reduced poppyseeds by one tablespoon. I made them for mom for mother's day and she loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
lacks flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
The biscotti tased great. I did add 1/2 cup oil, however, as I could not get dough to even form into a ball to divide it in half - it was too dry. Next time I make this recipe, I think I would cut back on the poppy seeds by a tablespoon and increase the lemon extract and lemon zest as the lemon flavor got hidden by the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Wonderful flavor! Next time I might use a bit less sugar to cut down on sweetness (and save a few calories). FYI for Weight Watchers folks -- if you make 36 biscotti, these are 1 pt. apiece. (Sorry -- in my original review I said they were 1 pt. apiece if you made 18 biscotti. My mistake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I forgot to add the poppy seeds and it still turned out great. I had to use a little lemon juice and rum. Since there wasn't enough lemon flavor I coated finished product with a lemon glaze (powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good. I made these when I had a family get together and everyone loved them. If you are good at following directions then they are pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I guess if youre a really health concious person (like my uncle), you can tell that theyre low fat, but personally I just thought they were great cookies ^^ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States