Lemon Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family calls this "fork cake", and it is a traditional birthday cake. I was surprised to find it on this site! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Now, I usually don't like when people post reviews without adhering to the recipe as written, but I only made the cake (no glaze) and it was DIVINE. After butchering the cake from another recipe from this site, I only needed the actual cake with a recipe that included ingredients I already had (it was midnight of Thanksgiving!) and found this one. I baked it in two 9" rounds for 25 min and used it with the filling from the original recipe and Wilton's lemon buttercream frosting. . .the end result was amazing. I'm giving the five stars for the cake because 1.) It was fantastic and because 2.) it SAVED MY LIFE lol! I will definitely go back and try the recipe as written soon. Thank you, MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Made it with lemon cake mix instead of yellow, and added lemon pudding as well. My hubby and Son made it for my birthday. Its very moist and delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was delicious! And so easy! I followed the recipe exactly since I had never heard of "poke" cake. Well, I've heard of it now and it is in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very moist and delicious. Great. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I spent the day trying different lemon cake recipes. This one was the best. I used a lemon cake mix instead of yellow & changed the 3/4 c. water to juice of one lemon plus enough water to make 3/4 c. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
So moist and refreshing. I've been making this for years and it always get compliments. It's so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is my family favorite cake! I got this recipe from a co-worker and it the exact same as this one. I have one in the oven right now-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Delicious cake...raves from everyone! Made this for the first time for my husband's birthday and he, along with the rest of the family said it was the best cake they had ever tasted! Quite a compliment considering I haven't baked much. Only change I made was the recommendation from others to use lemon cake mix instead of yellow. Tangy and moist and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I have made this cake dozens of times. I don't like lemon cakes but this one is exceptional. It is easy, tasty, and dangerously delicious. This is one of my go to cakes when I am taking a cake to an occasion. I know that it will be easy enough to prepare on a weeknight, reliable enough not to fail, and tasty enough to please. Thanks Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States