Lemon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
WOW! I made this pie for Father's Day brunch and it was a huge success. When preparing the pie, I tasted the filling prior to putting it into the pie crust and was weary that it may not have enough lemon flavor. However after it chilled overnight, it had just the right amount of tartness. My mother-in-law begged for the recipe and I'm almost ashamed to give it to her as it was embarassingly easy, but FABULOUS! Thanks for sharing, I will definitely be making this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
An awesome summer pie! Excellent with BBQ or potluck if you want a light, lemony dessert. I like to make my own graham cracker crust (buy the ready to use Keebler Graham cracker crumbs) since it tastes so much better - sweeter, crunchier and homemade tasting. I think the ready made crusts always taste stale and they crumble and fall apart when you cut into them. Like others, I added about 5-6 drops of yellow food coloring, added 1.5 teaspoon lemon extract and increased lemon juice to 2/3 cups (use quality bottled lemon juice). Sweet and tangy, similar to a lemon chiffon pie and will take you a whole 15 min. from start to finish. TIP- Freeze this, especially if you add more lemon juice. Trust me, it won't be 'frozen', but will taste like a silky key lime pie coming out of the freezer. The fridge isn't cold enough to firm this up. I also make this in a 9 in. springform pan which makes serving and cutting very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is my new favorite dessert! It's so easy, and fabulous. I thought it wasn't quite lemon enough the 1st time, so the 2nd time I made it I used 2/3 cup lemon juice, and it came out a little softer, but zingier, which I like. I also put a few drops of yellow food coloring, to make it the perfect lemon-yellow color. It's my new standby though, it's so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Just make the custard with 2 egg yolks and sweetened condensed milk, than add lemon juice, it might be more interesting. Frozen whipping cream can be add for the topping or fold either way is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
we call this Lemon Icebox Pie in my family. it's a family traditional favorite for over 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This recipe is absolutely the best and the easiest ever!! It takes less than 5 minutes to prepare, and tastes wonderful! Big hit at my house when I have friends over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
A great addition to my Easter Dinner. This pie was so easy to put together! I upped the lemon juice to 1/2 a cup, added the zest from one grated lemon and used real whipping cream, and a small amount of yellow food coloring. For those of us that love lemon, this was a big hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Pretty good for a pie, and really good for a no-hassle 5-minute pie. The cool whip doesn't even really have to be thawed. I'm going to try lime juice next time instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
A lady at work makes this. light, creamy, not too tart or sweet. fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is so yummy and easy to make. How would it not get five stars?! You could just as easily pass this off as lemon cloud mousse to your family if you didn't want to wait for it to firm up...just throw it in cute bowls instead! If you CAN wait, it's really good once it's been in the freezer all day. It doesn't actually freeze solid and so it is quite easy to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States