Lemon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
An awesome summer pie! Excellent with BBQ or potluck if you want a light, lemony dessert. I like to make my own graham cracker crust (buy the ready to use Keebler Graham cracker crumbs) since it tastes so much better - sweeter, crunchier and homemade tasting. I think the ready made crusts always taste stale and they crumble and fall apart when you cut into them. Like others, I added about 5-6 drops of yellow food coloring, added 1.5 teaspoon lemon extract and increased lemon juice to 2/3 cups (use quality bottled lemon juice). Sweet and tangy, similar to a lemon chiffon pie and will take you a whole 15 min. from start to finish. TIP- Freeze this, especially if you add more lemon juice. Trust me, it won't be 'frozen', but will taste like a silky key lime pie coming out of the freezer. The fridge isn't cold enough to firm this up. I also make this in a 9 in. springform pan which makes serving and cutting very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
A great addition to my Easter Dinner. This pie was so easy to put together! I upped the lemon juice to 1/2 a cup, added the zest from one grated lemon and used real whipping cream, and a small amount of yellow food coloring. For those of us that love lemon, this was a big hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is my new favorite dessert! It's so easy, and fabulous. I thought it wasn't quite lemon enough the 1st time, so the 2nd time I made it I used 2/3 cup lemon juice, and it came out a little softer, but zingier, which I like. I also put a few drops of yellow food coloring, to make it the perfect lemon-yellow color. It's my new standby though, it's so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was very easy, but I just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Excellent and SO easy to make! I ended up making 2 pies with the ingredients. I put mine in the freezer and served them like that. Very tasty. If you want it to "look" lemoney, just add some yellow food coloring to the ingredients to give it a pretty yellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
If I could I would give this recipe 10*'s. My mom used to make this for me when I was a little girl. She sometimes substituted lime juice for the lemon and some times she would add a bit of lime juice to the lemon juice. This recipe brings back so many memories...now I plan to use this recipe to build memories with my own son's and friends at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Just make the custard with 2 egg yolks and sweetened condensed milk, than add lemon juice, it might be more interesting. Frozen whipping cream can be add for the topping or fold either way is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
this was EASY light and delicious. will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
we call this Lemon Icebox Pie in my family. it's a family traditional favorite for over 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Quick to fix, lite and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States