Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I have never had luck with anything lemon except maybe a cake. The filling never sets up for some reason. I am happy to report that I had great success with these. Some had complained that there was too much crust. Mine had equal crust and filling, which is perfect for my taste. The crust is yummy - flakey and buttery and holds together well when you cut it. I stored in the fridge overnight. In the morning I dabbed the top with a paper towel slightly before putting on the powdered sugar. Seemed to help it not to melt away as fast. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made these yesterday and they are very good. We are cutting back on sugar, so I did substitute 1/2 Stevia for 1/2 of the sugar in the lemon mixture. I followed others advice and increased the lemon zest and they are nice and tangy. My husband loves lemon bars, so I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I loved how easy it was to make. My mother made lemon bars all the time, but I never tried. I didn't have a lot of ingredients for any other desserts & hubby wanted something sweet. Awesome job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've never made lemon bars before and these were super easy to make! They turned out delicious! I actually ate one still warm, lol. I'm going to let cool to room temp and then put them in the fridge over night. I'll have some happy co-workers tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Tiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I would give it 4.5 stars if I could; it's delicious and wonderful but needs a few tweaks. I didn't think the filling-to-crust ratio was quite right, so when i make this again, I will use less crust and the same amount of filling. I also had to bake the crust a bit longer than suggested to get it to brown, so I would suggest 20-25 min rather than 15-20. But it really is lovely and I will definitely keep this as my go-to for the next time I get a generous donation of lemons from my friends' trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've made this recipie for a couple of years. It's perfect. Just add more zest according to your taste. My oven cooks hot so I turn it down 25 degrees. Leave it the way it is. You won't regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I halved the recipe (8x8 pan) and it came out perfect. Real Butter shortbread crust is so easy to make after you let the butter soften naturally. Giving them for Christmas gifts and the leftovers I gave to my co-workers and Raves all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Just made this and it turned out lovely! Thank you this was an easy and minimal ingredients made it simple! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I doubled the lemon zest because I love the lemon flavor it adds. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made for a meeting at my house and people raved about these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States