Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I had never made lemon bars of any kind and had been craving lemon dessert and decided on this recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made 1-1/2 times the amount of filling. I'm glad I did because it was the perfect amount. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and jiggled the pan and touched the center of the filling to make sure it was set. It seemed to be after the 20 minutes the recipe states. Not thinking about me increasing the amount of filling I didn't think to bake for additional time. They could have used a few more minutes to firm up just a tad more but they were great. We couldn't eat just one. Thanks so much for the great recipe. It's one I'll keep and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Soo good! I made it to the T and it was sooo good! I've never made lemon bars before and these were sooo successful! Hallelujah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. There wasn't enough filling for the amount of crust, making the bars very thin. My crust turned out crumbly which made them difficult to get out of the pan. I followed the original recipe exactly. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
good. a little dryly fault, added almonds ground, to base, and 1 1/2 filling. added vanilla too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
my attempt at this lemon bar was a disaster. I followed the recipe to the word, the base was perfect, I put the lemon filling on top of the base as instructed and baked it as instructed. BUT when I took out the slice out of the oven ALL the lemon topping was on the bottom of the base. Not a good look. The lemon sauce tasted delicious. SO what have I and where have I gone wrong? Someone out there Please tell me. I am longing to make it again without the the problem of the escape of the sauce. I still feel it desrves 4 stars. Regards from Whitby Tart. in Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Took the advice of others who thought the filling was a bit skimpy, and made 1-1/2X the filling recipe. Thus, only four stars. Unfortunately, I did not bring the edges of the crust up high enough to accomodate the extra filling, and had about a custard cupfull more than I could use. But in the finished product was nearly as thick as a lemon meringue pie - which was great. The filling was awesome, with a nice tart lemony zing, without any changes - and we all found we couldn't eat "just one." I will definitely make this one again - thanks for posting it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this tonight as written: The crust seemed to thick, heavy and dense. Not flakey like my normal pie crust. Perhaps I did something wrong? I really liked the flavor of the filling – plenty lemony – and if I do try again I will revisit the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
These lemon bars are DIVINE! I took the advice of others and made 1 1/2 the amount of filling and it's perfect. I cooked it all at 350, cooked the crust for 20 minutes and 20 minutes for the filling and they turned out just perfect. I couldn't wait too long before I taste tested them to make sure none of them were "poisonous." ;) The prefect combination of sweetness and tartness... really mouthwatering! Will be making these again and again! NOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I followed other reviewer's comments & did the crust as written, but the filling 1 & 1/2 of how it was written...a 5-star with these changes!! So: Crust: 2 C Flour, 1/2 C Icing Sugar, 1 C Butter. Filling: 6 Eggs, 2 + 1/4 C Sugar, 3/4 C Lemon Juice, 1 & 1/2 Tbsp Lemon Zest, 6 Tbsp Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made these bars for my church's coffee hour after service last Sunday (April 14th) and everybody loved them! I received many requests for the recipe, which doesn't happen very often. These bars are exceptionally good, just like lemon meringue pie without the meringue and cut into squares rather than pie slices. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States