Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
It wasn't lemony enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Need to 1 1/2 or 2x the filling. But very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
After reading the reviews, I had planned on doubling the filling, but at the last minute, decided to try them first as written. The ONLY change I made was that I forgot to add the reserved 1/4 c. of flour to the filling. I used my food processor to blend the flour, powdered sugar, and butter (not softened), and the crust was perfect. I like the crust/filling ratio. I think it would be overwhelmingly lemony to double the filling. It took 3 fresh lemons to get the 1/2 cup of juice and 1 T of zest. For those who aren't familiar with zesting a lemon, only zest the yellow exterior, don't zest into the white. And, finally, for those who complained that they weren't as thick as pictured, if you look closely, you can see that the ones in the photo are actually 2 bars stacked. I tried this recipe after trying Chef John's, and prefer this one. They're delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Try number 2, the lemon-fill at the beginning looked the same both times. Just trying to make sure I measured the full amounts of ingredient to make the filling was upsetting. (Hey, having the first lemon-fill trial finish the bake-time & not solidify was really hard!) I thought I would lower the temperature of the oven by 10 degrees and cook it 15 mins longer. Ta Da... fresh Lemon Pie Bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Good recipe but do not add the 4 Tablespoons of flour to the lemon mixture; it makes it taste paste-y. Use cornstarch instead. Baked these lemon bars 2 days ago to take to a picnic and they were gone in an hour. So glad I saved a few at home, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was the best lemon bar recipe i have ever seen. but it could do with out the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I run the lemons through a juicer. No juicing and making lemon zest, it is done all at once and makes a very lemony taste. Also, for a light summer dessert, put some blueberries ontop of a slice and a little whip cream...it is very nice for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
this recipe used too much lemon juice and i found that the crust stuck to the pan but i tasted the crust crust it was delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Kate Weagant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I will give this just a three because the crust left a lot to be desired it was just ok next time I will definatly jazz up the crust a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Best lemon bars ever!! love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States