Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great light dessert for a full Easter dinner menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this using Bob's Red Mill gluten free flour mix and organic lemons. OMG. The taste is amazing. The crust is a bit flaky, which is from the flour mix I used. I expected that from gluten free flour. The organic lemons are a must. So much more lemon flavor. Make these now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made these lemon squares many times, most recently for a baby shower, and they went over so well many people asked for the recipe! The one change that I made is that I doubled the lemon filling; I did have to bake it for longer though to be set. Also, I learned that you cannot pour the lemon filling over the hot crust because the filling and crust end up sort of melting together. I waited about 10-15 minutes before pouring the filling on the crust and this made a big difference. These bars are not easy to cut, so you definitely need to have a really sharp knife on hand and a good spatula to get them out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Fantastic recipe very lemony and the crowds loved it. Would def keep this recipe As one of our favourites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is the best recipe I have tried. With perfect thickness, strong lemony fresh taste, it made the whole family happy. Plus, its very easy. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Getting the crust: lemon ratio right was a big problem, and I still ended up with too much crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laracroft
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this tonight. Here is my opinion. I agree with the others, the crust is too thick, so next time I will double the filling. The filling was great, just not much of it compared to the crust. I also used butter, which I am not a fan of, I hate the taste of real butter, so next time I will use margarine. I also add a few squeezes more of the lemon juice in the filling than originally called for. Other than that they came out great, I was just not a fan of how the crust tasted made with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good! The crust needs to be baked about 20 minutes I found. I did tweak it slightly. I added 1.5 tablespoons lemon extract and 1 tablespoon of vanilla both to the filling. It definitely made a difference. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Cohen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent flavor, texture, and easy prep, but I think the lemon part of it is too skimpy for a 9x13 pan...altho the crust recipe is just right. Maybe try a smaller pan if you like thicker bars and allow an overnight before cutting. Also, add extra butter or spray to the sides and corners as the crust likes to stick there and prevents evenly cut bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States