Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These lemon bars were awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These are absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. I did have to bake the crust quite a bit longer than 15-20 minutes, but that's fine because it smelled so incredibly good. I thought the crust and filling were perfectly balanced. Not too tart, not too sweet. I'm hooked, I will make these over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Very good and easy to make; the original cookie bar recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! It was quick and easy, and it tastes superb! I'm gluten-free, so I used gluten-free all-purpose flour from Fred Meyers, using the same amounts as instructed. Also, I used Earth Balance butter instead of real butter in the same ratios. I cooked it at 350F just a little longer than 20 minutes, but I do have an old oven. I didn't wait till it turned golden brown, except barely along the edges, due to its gluten-free nature. It turned out flaky, light, and deliciously moist to where it melted in my mouth! I used fructose as my white sugar substitute, and used 2 1/2 fresh squeezed lemon to have more of a fresh and tangy taste. I don't usually follow everything to the letter, so I used rough measurements and it still came out wonderful. I didn't even wait for it to cool before I ate a sample! :D I should use this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The first time i made this, i followed the recipe exactly. The first time came out too tart and tangy for me and too sticky/runny. However, the 2nd time i made it, i tweaked a few things. I left the lemon juice at 1/2C but added 1/4C orange juice and orange zest from one orange. I decreased the Sugar to 1C. and substituted 1C corn syrup. I didnt have butter on hand, so i used margarine. The second batch came out WONDERFUL and Amazingly delicious! I'm going to keep making my "citrus" bars with the above guidelines! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
These were good, I really loved the lemon flavor! I took the advice of other reviewers and made 1.5 times the filling. Even with the extra filling, I thought there was still a lot of crust compared to the filling. Next time I will either double the filling or half the crust recipe. I didn't have fresh lemons, so I used bottled organic lemon juice and an equal substitution of lemon extract for the lemon zest... perfect sweet/tart lemon taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this was good.actually I used another recipe for dough but I loved the lemon topping.It was so light and looked so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
After years of searching I have finally found "the Lemon Square" recipe I had been longing for. These were perfect. I took reviewers advice and doubled the filling and tweaked measurements a bit. Sooo good. Even my hubby who said he doesn't like lemons squares ate 4 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These were absolutely delicious and so very very easy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I read the comments and made 1 1/2 times the filling and that was just right. I accidentally doubled the lemon juice, though, so they were quite tart, but not in a bad way. Everybody loved them. Even my 5 year old daughter. I also didn't have quite enough butter so I used about 50g of Coconut Oil in the base. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I did as others suggested and doubled the filling. A little sweet in my estimation could cut the sugar a little. Also, liked these better the next day! Really would rate a 3 1/2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States