Lemon Pecan Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
It was way too dense and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have never made a pound cake that was so crumbly - Tasted good but I would never make it again - I will continue my search for a moist pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This cake has good texture and flavor, but is on the dry side. I barely baked it long enough to be done, so it wasn't the baking time. I think this would be better if there was some sour cream or pudding in it for extra moisture. The glaze helps, but not enough. Pound cake implies a pound of butter, and this only calls for 1/2 pound - maybe the recipe was adapted and that's why it's a little off and why the pan size seems to be off as well? I'll try again with tweaking. Good starter recipe, the pecans add a good flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This cake is excellent, very moist. I used 1-1/2 Tbl. fresh lemon zest in the recipe and it was nice and lemon-y. I also added more roasted pecans than the recipe called for (about 1 cup). The glaze "made" the cake and it presents very nicely. NOTE: Making one recipe did not yield as much batter as I expected so I tripled the recipe and made two cakes (1-1/2 recipes per bundt pan). For my bundt pans, this yielded the perfect amount of batter. This recipe will definitely be my "go to" cake when I need something citrus-y and bright!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Amazing cake. I served it at a party and everyone seemed to enjoy it. It has a strong lemon taste and it's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Icing was way too lemony tasting, will add less lemon juice if I make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Good but super sweet with the topping.Yummy and definately lemony. I did not use the pecans as i did not have any on hand.Still it was good. Just give it time to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Thanks a million Carol for this recipe. It's a really tasty and delicious one, I've just swapped the pecans by the Macadamia, and it came out really good. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I did something wrong with this recipe. The crust came out hard and the inside very wet, so I cut it into slices, put in the oven at 400 degrees and made the most delicious cookies with it. I still have no idea what I did wrong because I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was a really good lemon pound cake. It was really lemoney and My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States