Lemon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I did not like this sauce at all. There was WAY too much butter in it. It never thickened and got creamy, just greasy and runny. I tried to reduce the sauce enough to at least make it a little thicker and it made it worse; it was pretty much 1/2 butter 1/2 cream/broth with a lemony flavor. Bleh. I followed the instructions exactly except I used lemon zest instead of lime, but that wouldn't change the consistency, just the flavor. I fear for trying it again but who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was not edible. I have no idea what could have gone wrong here...It tasted like plain cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yummy. I used Light Cream w/ a little whole milk and Smart Balance and it was still very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
It was fabulous! I used greek yogurt instead of heavy cream, it worked like a charm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Titania

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I didn't have Heavy cream so I used 2% milk and then added just a touch of Corn starch as a thickening agent. Worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhillyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
yummy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good basic sauce. Sauce was on the thin side, even after reducing for a period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
The finished product of the written recipe was too bland for me, so I did some tweaking. This sauce will only be as good as your broth, so I'd recommend using chicken or beef stock. I made the recipe as written but used chicken stock instead of beef broth and all lemon zest. It was good, but was very mild in flavor and not enough lemon taste. I increased the zest and juice to taste and next time will probably thicken it slightly. I really like the idea though and will definitely be making this again with more "tweaks". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I have been to an expensive local restaurant and have had a very similar dish a few times so I thought I would try to recreate it. I was pretty sure he used cream, broth, butter and lemon juice so did an ingredient search on Allrecipes and found this! It is pretty much exactly what I was looking for: creamy, rich, tart, delicious! I made this with some fresh basil & parsley from the garden along with red, orange and yellow peppers, artichoke hearts, red and spanish onions and carrots. I reduced it down and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe, I'm going to keep tweaking this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Very good. I omit the zest and use chicken broth instead of beef. I also like to add artichokes and capers with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States