Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe, or my variation of it, has become a staple side dish in our household. We love the flavor of the lemon with the orzo and use this as a base recipe that we adjust to suit our tastes. I don't care for a strong thyme flavor, so I use a lesser amount and also use chicken broth most often because I have it on hand. The chicken broth gives it a great flavor. Our favorite additions to this recipe are mushrooms, onions, and fresh spinach. At the end of the cooking process, I stir in fresh spinach leaves into the hot pasta. I have made the orzo a few times with just the spinach, onions, and mushrooms and it is delicious. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
For maximum flavor, make sure the orzo is nice and toasty (takes a bit longer than the recommended 2 minutes) before adding any liquid. And unless you're a meatatarian and can use chicken stock, skip the flavorless void and use a quality veg broth (homemade is best). A nice subtle side dish when bored with rice and potatoes (again)... can be bulked-up with extra veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was actually amazing!!! Instead of shredding the vegetables, I chopped them into pieces. I just like seeing the pieces of veggies. I didn't have zucchini on hand so I substituted the zucchini with yellow squash. I also had green beans to use up so I added those in along with the carrots and squash. I would say normally you will need more liquid than just the one (14 oz.) can of broth. I cooked up 1 1/2 cups of pasta and I think I used about 2 cans of broth. I just judged how many cans to use based off the amount of liquid left in the pot and how done the pasta was. The end result though was spectacular. I pretty much followed the recipe again just substituting some veggies. I would make this again in a heartbeat and it's super easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this a main dish by adding chicken to it. I also added 3T fresh chopped parsley, mushrooms, broccoli, and cooked the orzo in chicken broth instead of veggie broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Sirkel Patton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe was fine, I just don't think I really care for orzo much. And I would have preferred the zucchini and carrots matchstick style as opposed to shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was good, but maybe it was lacking something? I didn't have any zucchini, but I added some onion. It ran out of liquid before it was cooked, so I added lemon juice and then needed to add some water as well, so I added a little chicken paste for flavor. I also seasoned with salt and pepper, and used parsley instead of thyme because thats what I had. I might try it again with the zucchini. We will probably eat it again, but it wasn't necessarily a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing! Flavorful, moist and delicious! A great summer recipe or all year round!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrebonne, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved this with our lemon grilled chicken! I used minced fresh lemon basil instead of the thyme. just personal preference. Enjoying the leftovers for lunch as it makes a ton. Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
If you have veggie haters in your family, you definitely need to shred the zucchini & carrot. Haven't tried it chopped, but prefer shredded anyway (I do like veggies though). Next time I'll try adding more veggies and maybe a 'light' tasting bean for a bit more protein for a complete vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
we thought this was very good. made it as a side dish with peppercorn pork tenderlion, steamed string beans, cucumbers w/sour cream & vidalia onions. had some cotes du rhone wine with this and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States