Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This meal makes a wonderful light lunch or side dish! We were really impressed. To accompany the lemon zest I added two tablespoons of juice from the same lemon, and the flavours blended really well. Slightly tangy, but delicious. Next time I will increase the amount of carrot and zucchini, and possibly make the additions of eggplant and onion to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
this was good but I also had a problem with not enough liquid so I had to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Nice flavor with a burst of citrus freshness. Great for a summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is just wonderful. I chopped the vegetables instead of grating, and I used a little less thyme (i don't care much for it) and I added it with the vegetables. I didn't have any problems with the amount of liquid or the cooking time, but when I make this again I won't add the orzo before the broth. That made it stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Wow! Way too much thyme for me. Perhaps the recipe is a misprint and should read "fresh" thyme? I should have gone with my instinct and reduced the amount. Overall, this recipe has potential and I will try it again with adjustment for the thyme. I used chicken broth because I didn't have any vegetable broth. I left the lid on for cooking the orzo and the amount of liquid and cooking time seemed perfect to me; no trouble there. Give this recipe a try...I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was a delicious recipe. I used chicken broth for the liquid and 1 tbsp fresh chopped thyme, as well as ground pepper. As others suggested, I added chopped carrot and zucchini to the orzo with about 8 minutes left in the cooking time. I found the 14 ounces of liquid was enough, as the chopped veggies created enough extra liquid for the pasta to cook and the veggies were tender, not at all soggy. I left the top on the pot - which helped retain adequate liquid to cook the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Very yummy.....my family loved it! Although next time i would just cut down on the amount of thyme. I would probably use 1/2 T instead but very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
It was delicious. I added extra sauted garlic and about half a sauted onion. If cooked with the lid on, the one can of vegetable broth was plenty. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Made this Sunday for my sister's birthday - everyone loved it, even my 2 1/2 year old great niece! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I followed the advise of others and used a little extra broth and added my vegies late. I also added some cooked grilled chicken to use this as a main dish. My husband and I both thought this was great. It is flavorful yet light. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZJNK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States