Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I wanted to make the recipe as written, but I couldn't resist making some changes, and I'm glad I did. First off, I added a thinly sliced shallot to the pan with the other vegetables. I also added the juice of a lemon along with the zest and the broth. I simmered the mixture covered for a little more than 10 minutes, and in the end I added some cooked, shredded chicken to make it more of a main dish. I didn't bother with the fresh thyme, mainly because I didn't have any, but did add some freshly ground pepper and dried oregano. Finally, I topped it off with some garlic and herb feta and dug in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Delicious. It was a little too moist initially, but after sitting about 10 minutes, it was perfect! A great way to sneak in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was okay but far from great. Definately bland tasting. I think this recipe would need a lot of extras to liven up the taste so it is probably easier to just use a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I read the reviews and cooked mine with the lid on in order to avoid running out of liquid before the orzo was cooked. As a result, I had the oppostie problem! The orzo was done, but the pot was still full of liquid. In order to try to avoid draining out all the flavour from the broth, I cooked it longer with the lid off, so it was a little overdone. I don't really see that the parmesan (and I used good parmesan) added to the dish, so next time I will leave it out. A great base recipe that I will play with and adapt to suit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Outstanding! Can I give this recipe 6 stars??? We had this with dinner last night and absolutely LOVED it! The only thing I added was a couple of squeezes of lemon juice from the lemon I had zested. Not only is this dish yummy, but it's also quite healthy. Thank you and thank you twice for submitting this one! I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly, and found it rather bland, as did my family...I was disappointed after all the good reviews. I had quite a bit leftover, which I made into chicken noodle soup. It was great in the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was very tasty. I took several suggestions from various reviewers and it turned out delicious. I diced the vegetables fine instead of shredding, used chicken broth for a dash more flavor and added 2T of fresh lemon juice. I kept the lid on while cooking and periodically checked it until the liquid had been absorbed. The addition of parmesan as the final step is delicious. Remember that this is a light tasting side dish and is supposed to compliment the main entry. It's not supposed to be assertive and some may feel it's rather bland. Not at all, if you appreciate its simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Yummy! I don't think I added enough lemon zest since mine tasted more like the broth. Great side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. It had a little sweetness to it, was great served with baked salmon and fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States