Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was very, very good "LitleLisa1"! I used the juice of a lemon instead of the zest only because my kids aren't crazy about zest. I made another side from this site which called for pine nuts, for which I subbed with sunflower seeds and I mistakingly placed them in this dish instead. No matter, they added a nice crunch and this recipe was a success and loved by all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
The best part about this recipe is how easy it is to make. When I added the zucchini and carrot to the pot I thought it looked like way too much but the orzo plumps up quite a bit when you cook it, and the proportions turned out just right. This is a nice side dish, but it was slightly bland. Not a show-stopper but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
YUM! This turned out way better than I expected and received full compliments from hubby. It tastes just as good using lime as it does lemon. I didnt have any veg broth (island life!) and thus made my own; I used some stock and a little asparagus condensed soup as the base, and then added a tin of "salad vegetables" (baby carrots, beans and peas etc) all mashed up. Turned out a treat. Will make again. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was a good and simple recipe and has potential to make for a very colorful presentation but I needed to adjust the cooking times. Maybe it was the pan I used, but after 10 minutes of simmering, my orzo was not done but the liquid was gone. So I added about 1/4 cup more broth and simmered for another 6 minutes. That overcooked the shredded vegetables so next time I make this--and there definitely will be a next time--I will plan to simmer for 15 minutes with extra broth, but not add the veggies until there's about 8 minutes left. That will leave the dish fresh and colorful. It also needed salt and pepper with the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this for a holiday dinner for friends and they loved it! It looks pretty and the lemon really complimented the salmon dish I served with it. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I HAD THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM AS THE OTHER REVIEWER. ORZO NOT COOKED; LIQUID GONE. ADDED MORE LIQUID AND COOKED LONGER AND VEGGIES WERE OVERDONE. BUT STILL DELISH. JUST FOLLOW HER ADVICE. MORE LIQUID AND COOKING TIME AND DON'T ADD VEGGIES TILL ALMOST COOKED. I DIDN'T HAVE ANY ZUCCHINI SO I USED FROZEN PEAS. I THINK CHOPPING THE VEGGIES INSTEAD OF SHREDDING WOULD BE BETTER AS FAR AS TEXTURE GOES BUT PROBABLY WOULDN'T BE AS PRETTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I followed the advise of others and used a little extra broth and added my vegies late. I also added some cooked grilled chicken to use this as a main dish. My husband and I both thought this was great. It is flavorful yet light. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Made this Sunday for my sister's birthday - everyone loved it, even my 2 1/2 year old great niece! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
It was delicious. I added extra sauted garlic and about half a sauted onion. If cooked with the lid on, the one can of vegetable broth was plenty. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Very yummy.....my family loved it! Although next time i would just cut down on the amount of thyme. I would probably use 1/2 T instead but very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States