Lemon-Orange Orange Roughy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Orange Roughy is an endangered fish and should not be consumed until it has recovered sufficiently from overfishing. Try this recipe with another fish that is not having an large ecoclogical impact on the environment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
neither my husband nor I was able to finish it. The entire concoction was extremely bitter and did nothing to enhance the flavor of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I didn't think I was good at cooking fish, but this recipe made me change my mind. It was so easy. You've got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I did not like this at all. Maybe I just don't like Orange Roughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Good, quick & easy; it was a little on the sour side - we ate this with jasmine rice and the rice mellowed out the sour tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Great base recipe. I tweaked it a bit. First I added Old Bay, salt and ground black pepper to all purpose flour and coated fish in it. Used 3 clementines (only oranges I had), half lemon and quarter of a lime. Added fresh lemon basil (had no lemon pepper) with some cilantro to the juice before pouring it over the fish in the skillet. Added fresh garlic to the oil and a little lemon basil too prior to putting fish in it. Added ground peppercorns to fish in the pan. Great sauce, can also use on tilapia. Will double the juice contents if using clementines again as I would've liked more of the sauce - used 2 fillets (approx 1lb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was just okay. After reading reviews, wanted to make sure I didn't over-do the juices and probably could have used more. A little bland. We'll give it one more try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Tasted great, and super easy to make. My 9 year old son loved loved loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this recipe in an "emergency" situation where I found myself with some roughy on hand and no plan for how to fix it. Seems most other fish recipes on this site called for heavy cream, which I didn't have. I used one whole (but very small) orange, one whole lemon and half a lime. This made quite a bit of juice for three very good sized filets. The juice took a bit to reduce down but by the time it reduced, the fish was done so no problem there. Seasoned the fish with Old Bay, some dried dill weed and black pepper (as I didn't have the lemon pepper on hand either). I was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I was worried it would be dull, but it really had a good amount of flavor without overpowering the fish. FYI, I used Trader Joe's white roughy (found in the freezer section)which is simply divine and a must try if you haven't had it yet. This dish was perfect for a summer night dinner. My husband said he could easily use this sauce for shore lunches on his next fishing trip with the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States