Lemon Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I only made the cake and it was very good. My only change is that I added the zest of a lemon and it was still not very lemony. It is also not vey sweet and I paired it with Martha Stewart's Swiss Meringue Buttercream. It was a sturdy cake ( not dense) and it was perfect to use for a ruffle came. The cake got rave reviews at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
AWESOME!!! Wonderful cake!! A MUST try!! Made it for a party & it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! My husband had 4 pieces over the course of 2 days as he is not a big sweets person so that is a huge sign of how good this cake is. The only thing I would recommend is if you're a big lemon fan then you should put more than what's required for the cake. I could barely taste the lemon flavor in the cake. I would recommend this cake and I will be making it again in a couple of weeks. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yummy cake, but pretty dry. I put a raspberry filling in between the cakes and it was amazing! I doubled the frosting recipe and it was barely enought to cover the whole thing, without having to ice inbetween layers so definatley do that!! It was delicous though, and i definatley did not add 11 cups of powdered sugar. Also, my cake totally fell apart. Don't forget to saw off the top part of the individual cakes, as I did, to make them level. This will ruin it!!! Will probably do this recipe again with maybe a few less egg whites to make it less dry. And the raspberry filling is definatley a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this cake yesterday for a lemon cake lover, and I got rave reviews from everyone! I doubled the frosting like other reviewers said, and I actually think it would have been enough if I hadn't; however, I don't like much frosting. The only problem I had with the cake was it sliding around when I was icing it, but that's really my fault. :) I ended up fixing it, and it was fine. The cake came out dense, but extremely moist, and the frosting had an incredible citrus flavor. I would love to make this again sometime. I love getting so many compliments on a made from scratch cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I'm not a big lemon fan (actually, I dislike lemon..a lot), but my science teacher ADORES lemon cakes! So-- I decided to make this. I didn't know how strong the lemon extract would be, but it turned out perfectly! The top of my 3 cakes were a little bumpy, but I flattened the tops (via serrated knife) anyways. Phenomenal recipe, I highly recommend it! I used a different orange & lemon icing though c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This cake was absolutely fabulous! I loved the orange frosting--the lemon gave it a nice kick. The only thing, I would say, is that the cake and frosting eaten together is very, very sweet. Other than that, this cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pirategirl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is a delightful little cake! (Didn't make the frosting.) I was looking for a good lemon cake recipe, and I've definitely found it. Because I like lemon (a lot) I doubled the lemon extract. Still, next time I make this I will add a tablespoon or so of lemon zest to the batter as well, just to boost the lemon a little more. However, I won't change anything else. The texture was perfect. I'd give more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
A little bit to citrisy for me but overall a good cake. I did the three layer version and it was a lot of cake. I think in the future I would do a two layer version. Have plenty of water on hand for this one it will leave ya parched
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artie cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I only tried the frosting and it was a little too citrusy for me, but if you really like that you may love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States