Lemon Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I only made the cake and it was very good. My only change is that I added the zest of a lemon and it was still not very lemony. It is also not vey sweet and I paired it with Martha Stewart's Swiss Meringue Buttercream. It was a sturdy cake ( not dense) and it was perfect to use for a ruffle came. The cake got rave reviews at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
AWESOME!!! Wonderful cake!! A MUST try!! Made it for a party & it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! My husband had 4 pieces over the course of 2 days as he is not a big sweets person so that is a huge sign of how good this cake is. The only thing I would recommend is if you're a big lemon fan then you should put more than what's required for the cake. I could barely taste the lemon flavor in the cake. I would recommend this cake and I will be making it again in a couple of weeks. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yummy cake, but pretty dry. I put a raspberry filling in between the cakes and it was amazing! I doubled the frosting recipe and it was barely enought to cover the whole thing, without having to ice inbetween layers so definatley do that!! It was delicous though, and i definatley did not add 11 cups of powdered sugar. Also, my cake totally fell apart. Don't forget to saw off the top part of the individual cakes, as I did, to make them level. This will ruin it!!! Will probably do this recipe again with maybe a few less egg whites to make it less dry. And the raspberry filling is definatley a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this cake yesterday for a lemon cake lover, and I got rave reviews from everyone! I doubled the frosting like other reviewers said, and I actually think it would have been enough if I hadn't; however, I don't like much frosting. The only problem I had with the cake was it sliding around when I was icing it, but that's really my fault. :) I ended up fixing it, and it was fine. The cake came out dense, but extremely moist, and the frosting had an incredible citrus flavor. I would love to make this again sometime. I love getting so many compliments on a made from scratch cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I'm not a big lemon fan (actually, I dislike lemon..a lot), but my science teacher ADORES lemon cakes! So-- I decided to make this. I didn't know how strong the lemon extract would be, but it turned out perfectly! The top of my 3 cakes were a little bumpy, but I flattened the tops (via serrated knife) anyways. Phenomenal recipe, I highly recommend it! I used a different orange & lemon icing though c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This cake was absolutely fabulous! I loved the orange frosting--the lemon gave it a nice kick. The only thing, I would say, is that the cake and frosting eaten together is very, very sweet. Other than that, this cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pirategirl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is a delightful little cake! (Didn't make the frosting.) I was looking for a good lemon cake recipe, and I've definitely found it. Because I like lemon (a lot) I doubled the lemon extract. Still, next time I make this I will add a tablespoon or so of lemon zest to the batter as well, just to boost the lemon a little more. However, I won't change anything else. The texture was perfect. I'd give more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
A little bit to citrisy for me but overall a good cake. I did the three layer version and it was a lot of cake. I think in the future I would do a two layer version. Have plenty of water on hand for this one it will leave ya parched
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artie cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I only tried the frosting and it was a little too citrusy for me, but if you really like that you may love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States