Lemon Mushroom Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This was great, extremely delicious. As per earlier reviews I dipped the chicken into egg before coating with the flour mixture. Reminds me somewhat of Chicken Francaise, but with much more flavor. Definitely a keeper recipie. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This recipe ROCKS! The first time that I made it, I followed the directions completely and it was SUPREME! Then the second time I made it, I made some changes... I added/removed: 1. A basket of sliced fresh mushrooms and added it to the broth mixture BEFORE pouring it over the chicken (tastes good if you let the mushrooms soak in the broth mixture for about 30 minutes) 2. I scraped out the remaining pulp from the lemon that I juiced and added it to the broth mixture. 3. I added 2 tablespoons of Lemon Pepper to the broth mixture 4. I dipped the chicken in 2 raw eggs (beaten) before dipping the chicken in the flour mixture 5. I omitted the lemon zest, capers and parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
OMG!!! This was wonderful! I was so impressed that I could make something so easy, taste and look so elegant! I can't wait to make for guests! Per other reviewers, added 1 1/2 TBLS of lemon pepper seasoning to the broth/soup mix, only used 3/4 cup flour and 6 chicken breasts (first dipped in an egg and butter mixture before dipping into flour so it would stick to chicken better). I served over rice (Uncle Ben's chicken and wild rice) and spooned the excees "sauce" over all. Absolutley devine! The praise I received for making this dish made me blush. Thanks Valerie for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
10 star recipe. The best of the best. I make this for company all the time and people go crazy over it. Some changes when I make it- all optional obviously: 1. after I dip the chicken in flour and begin to saute it, I then dip it back in the flour mixure-otherwise the "breading" is minimal and there is a lot of flour and herbs left over. 2. Never/rarely have fresh lemon (please!) so I just throw in lemon juice- prob 1/4 to 1/3 cup. 3. Never used the capers or lemon zest. 4. ALWAYS pound the chicken to within a centimeter of its life. Its so tender- amazing. 5. I use whatever in terms of the soup, mushroom, chicken, chicken and garlic, full fat, reduced fat, etc. Doesnt seem to make any difference to me. 6. I havent felt like leaving out spices if youre out is a big deal. Ive been out of parsley and basil and it made no difference- I just ignored them. 7. I always make extra sauce and a vat or rice b/c the family wants to eat it for leftovers for days. Im really surpised at those who dont like this. Ive made it probably 25 times and every time (except for one when I made a HUGE mistake on salt- tired due to having a newborn!) Ive been hailed a hero. Whoever came up with this recipe knows what they are doing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I don't go by reviews much anymore but I took a chance on this one and thought how bad could this be - I thought this was going to be okay - but nope - it was amazing - this is a new standard. I added some fresh mushrooms as well. Very good. The other thing about this recipe is that it is REALLY EASY to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
5 stars? Heck, make that 5000 stars for this most fascinating and mouth-watering recipe!! I have had my share of wonderful chicken recipes but this recipe definitely takes the cake; it is definitely on the top of my list! Fine dining / restaurant quality for sure! There is nothing to change about this most exceptional recipe other than the fact that I added lemon pepper to the chicken broth mixture as suggested in some of the reviews. I also added extra flour coating on the chicken breasts as it was cooking in the skillet to increase the 'thickness' of the coating and it turned out great. May I suggest the addition of chopped fresh mushrooms to the chicken broth mixture. But again, it's only a suggestion since the recipe is perfectly fine as it is. Cudos to the creator of this stunning recipe! Safe to say, I will definitely make this dish again but this time, it will be for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Wow! Ever after all the substitution I made, this still turned out awesome and I recieved raved reviews. I didn't have lemon so I had to use lime and substituted more chicken broth for the wine. I suggest to make only 1/2 of the flour mixture because there was more than 1/2 left after dredging them. I also added a tblsp of the flour mixture to the soup for added flavor. It had a nice, subtle taste. I can't wait to try it with lemon. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This was amazing. I couldn't believe that a recipe that I already had all the ingredients for could be so wonderful! I added 1/4 c. of the flour mixture to the broth before pouring it over the chicken so that it would thicken a bit while the chicken simmered... to create more of a gravy consistency. I swear, my husband actually LICKED his plate clean! *haha*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Wow, this was awesome. Tastes gourmet, but quick and easy. I didn't do the exact recipe because I was missing some things, but it turned out great. I didn't have basil or capers and I forgot the paprika. Didn't add the lemon zest either. Frankly, it had the perfect amount of lemon flavor. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2c. seemed too much and I used the healty request cream of mushroom to cut back on calories. I had a lot of flour mixture left over, as well. The sauce thickened perfectly. Next time I will make according to recipe to see if there is any difference in flavor. But even without a few ingredients it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was delicious. I did have a ton of the flour mixture left over, I wonder if maybe the recipe was supposed to read 4 breasts "halved", rather than "halves". Nonetheless an easy, fast, very tasty "restauranty" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States