Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My Dad told me the only thing he wanted for a Christmas treat was a lemon meringue pie made completely from scratch like my grandmother made when he was a child, so I found this recipe. I read the reviews on it, and as most people did, I only used a cup of sugar as opposed to the cup and a half it calls for. I put the meringue on while the custard was still hot and let it set on my counter to slowly cool. I experienced NO weeping, and when I cut into the pie, once it was completely cooled to room temperature, it wasn't watery at all. This was absolutely amazing. I put a bit of the lemon zest in the meringue as well as my Grandmother used to make hers like that, and my Dad said it was pretty darn close, but Grandmother's was a tad bit sweeter, so next time I will do 1 1/4 cup of sugar. Over all, this recipe was amazing and I am SO thankful I could put a smile on my Dad's face and know that one bite took him back to memories of his childhood. Thank you to the Author!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
So far so good! I put it in the oven a few minutes ago to brown. A note about the cornstarch issues people were having. It will not form a paste. Mine was thickened but not a paste. It came out fine. I did exactly like it said in the instructions. As long as you cook the filling properly it WILL thicken. You can't rush it and you absolutely must make sure it is clear before you add the yolk and lemon juice. The meringue was very pretty and I am hoping it sealed properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecurless

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe definitely will make again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela K.
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
So, I make a lemon meringue pie every year for my husband's birthday. This year I was looking for a slightly different twist to the old lemon meringue pie and when I found this one I had to try it. Well, it was wonderful and the hubby loved it! In my opinion, the filling comes out to be almost a cream like one and was just wonderful. And just as a side note, while making the filling you may question the sugar quantity, but in the end once you add the meringue to it the sweetness is all balanced out. This recipe is definitely now a favorite in our house and will be made again for birthdays to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was an easy & delicious pie! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I have tried many Lemon Meringue Pie recipes and always find them to be too eggy, too sweet, or not lemony enough. This pie was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabelvale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very good and easy insturctions. The pie is very sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerorr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe but my lemon curd always comes out too soft. Since I usually make two batch and double up the recipe, could this be affecting the consistency of the curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Nam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is the first pie I have ever made! Everyone raved about it! Thanks for a great easy recipe to follow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great Recipe! Tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States