Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Amazing Amazing Amazing!!! Make sure you secure the meringue to the pie crust so that the fillng doesn't bubble out. Otherwise the best flavor ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this last night, had never made a meringue (or quite possibly a pie) in my life. This was easy, the directions were easy to follow and the pie couldn't have come out better. Well, that's not entirely true. I didn't have fresh lemon peel so I had to use dried...apparently they had been sitting next to cloves too long and the lemon filling has a spiced clove taste now. But, that is of no fault to the recipe. I am making another one tonight with fresh lemon peel. Also, I had no idea how long to beat the eggs to make a meringue, it took quite a while but I couldn't believe that I actually made a stiff meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
tasted delicious!! i had problems with the custard being too runny and wouldn't stay on the crust. i also made the rookie mistake of putting the meringue on when it was hot AND putting it in the fridge (since I've never made one and followed directions exactly...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
So simple even a baby (cook) could do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I'm not as accomplished as others who commented. I tried this recipe on a whim. The pie had a great flavor but both my wife and I thought it was a little "rich". We both thought the butter was a little too much....BUT, overall, it was a good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I LOVE lemon meringue pie.. but not this one. I also love everything super sweet so I thought this would work perfectly. I am not a fan of the meringue IN the filling.... every bite I took my piece I just couldn't figure out what was wrong with this.. but there's something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I don't care for lemon pie, but my mom and sister in law begged me to make one for Christmas, I found this recipe followed exactly and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydia's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I followed the "Meringue" recipe and followed the Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie for filling. Came out Excellent - and as prior reviewer mentioned when blending the egg whites... You CAN NOT cut the blender off until desired shape of meringue is made or the eggs whites WILL go flat. So better if using a mixer, but if using a hand held blender (as I did) be aware that it takes at least 15 minutes before the meringue starts to foam, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My friend always complains when she goes out that restaurants do not make real meringue. So we made her this pie for Thanksgiving. She loved it and it was so easy to make. I loved it and would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe! I only gave 4 stars because I didn't add the extra 1/3 cup of water which would indicate why other reviewers had to add more cornstarch. I reduced the sugar as my personal preference and added 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar to the egg whites. I also spread the meringue on the filling when it's still very warm to cook the bottom. Other than my personal changes, this recipe is better than most! I would recommend watching the video of How To Make Lemon Meringue Pie for anyone who's confused. It really helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States