Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Sydia's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I followed the "Meringue" recipe and followed the Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie for filling. Came out Excellent - and as prior reviewer mentioned when blending the egg whites... You CAN NOT cut the blender off until desired shape of meringue is made or the eggs whites WILL go flat. So better if using a mixer, but if using a hand held blender (as I did) be aware that it takes at least 15 minutes before the meringue starts to foam, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My friend always complains when she goes out that restaurants do not make real meringue. So we made her this pie for Thanksgiving. She loved it and it was so easy to make. I loved it and would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe! I only gave 4 stars because I didn't add the extra 1/3 cup of water which would indicate why other reviewers had to add more cornstarch. I reduced the sugar as my personal preference and added 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar to the egg whites. I also spread the meringue on the filling when it's still very warm to cook the bottom. Other than my personal changes, this recipe is better than most! I would recommend watching the video of How To Make Lemon Meringue Pie for anyone who's confused. It really helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have never made an easier, more delicious lemon pie in all my baking years! I only had yolks left over from a white cake, so did not make the topping. But it was devine with whipped cream. This will be the only lemon pie recipe in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a really great recipe. I was dying for some lemon meringue pie and thought I would try it out. It tasted exactly how I was imagining it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was my first lemon meringue pie, so I have to give it 5 stars for coming out so great for a novice. Read reviews beforehand and did reduce sugar from 1.5 cups to 1.25, but next time would cut back to 1 cup. I have a sweet tooth, but prefer desserts on the moderately-sweet side. I also added more lemon - and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Absolutely perfect! I added a little more lemon juice and zest. It took just over 20mins for the meringue to brown evenly. One of the best LMPs I have ever tasted. Thanks so much, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I found the pie to be lip smacking and have had so many compliments every time I make it. The only advice I can give is to add 3 - 4 drops of lemon juice to the meringue before spooning over the filling and baking. It keeps the meringue from collapsing afterwards. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Our family swooned over this pie at Memorial Day, calling it the best lemon pie ever. It's not hard to make--I had always been intimidated by lemon meringue, but if you read the recipe through, follow the directions, and get your things together before you start, and you'll do fine. Remember to cool the filling and the crust before you put them together--that way your crust won't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was the first lemon meringue pie I ever made. I have never tasted one better. The tang from the fresh squeezed lemons was GREAT!(I did add a little extra) The meringue was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States