Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
great lemon pie! hubby likes me to double the meringe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Love this recipe! Followed the directions as written, with one exeption. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract to the filling. I did have some problems with my meringue, but that's not unusual for me. I always seem too have problems with my meringue. My brother in law suggested that I add cream of tartar to the meringue to stabilize it. I'll probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. I didn't change a thing, and it turned out beautifully! Best meringue pie I've ever had, and it was actually a lot easier to make than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this pie on Saturday for Easter Sunday with family. As I was making it I almost chucked the entire thing because when I added the cornstarch mixture to the sugar mix a lot of my cornstarch went lumpy. Needless to say, I was not impressed but I trodded along, picking out the larger white lumps. I followed the recipe exactly, adding 1/4 tsp lemon extract (which it probably didn't need). I let the filling cool completely at room temp before putting it in the pie shell. Then I made the meringue which turned out lovely. It made a lot of meringue but I used it all, spreading it over the entire pie, including the crust (as some reviewers suggested). I did not put the pie in the fridge at all. It did not weep and was very tasty - full of nice lemon flavour. I was glad I persevered instead of tossing it. Oh, yes, I forgot to add some of the meringue to the filling but it didn't really seem to matter. Thanks for a lovely addition to our Easter desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was the first meringue I have made, and it turned out excellent! I followed the recipe exactly. Two things that would have been helpful to me....when it says to heat and stir until thick and clear...a newby like me wondered how clear is clear...mine looked like clear caulking. The other thing was the meringue beating to stiff peaks...literally, the peaks would stand up on their own, you don't have to force them. However, if you don't beat them quite long enough the meringue will still be okay, it just won't fluff up as high. This was a beautiful, delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Great recipe. Make sure the crust and filling are at room temperature before you put the meringue on, or you will get the "weeping effect". Still tastes great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMILEYCOOKS
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Superb! An instant favorite!! I followed the directions as is except for decreasing the amount of sugar and adding one more egg white for the meringue. It turned out fantastic! I did have a bit of trouble with a little bit of liquid under the crust on the bottom but over all it turned out great! My grandparents LOVED it and I will definitely be making this pie again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was the first time I have ever attempted to make this kind of a pie and although it has lots of steps it was actually pretty easy to make. I read a lot of the reviews before I made it and I found some tips from other to be helpful. First I only used 1 and 1/4 cups sugar as another had suggested and I think it had just the right tangy/sweet mixture that I was looking for. Secondly another reviewer mentioned that the cornstarch/water mixture didn't make a smooth paste. I had the same experience so I did what they suggested and added some of the hot sugar water mixture to it before pouring it and it really helped. Some reviewers said there wasn't enough meringue, but I had plenty. I served this in 8 individual ramekins for a party and everyone loved it. Lots of dirty dishes in the end but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Weaver
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I'm very new to baking and found this recipe to be easy and yummy!! I'd never made a Lemon Meringue pie before. The only thing I did differently was I didn't put the filling in the fridge to cool, I set it aside while I made the meringue. This is a great recipe for beginners like me, don't be afraid of it like I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Weaver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh so very good! I had a little issue with my pie being a little runny, but I am sure that is my fault. Very good recipe, my husband fell in love with it and me all over again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States