Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by catnbets47
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was a wonderful tasting pie. All the girls at work loved it. Great texture and taste. I'll make more meringue next time though. I followed the directions exactly. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing. I want to give this 5 stars but the sight won't let me choose..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fabulous!! Followed exactly. Didn't have time to look at reviews first. Made way more filling than was needed for the pie crust which was suppose to be deep crust...Made 7 tarts with leftover filling. Also had enough topping for tarts!!! Perfect, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I loved the filling portion of this pie. It was the right amount of tart vs sweet. The only thing that I omitted was the lemon zest, as I did not have it. The only reason that I did not give this recipe 5 stars was for the meringue. It calls for salt and I questioned it while I was whipping my egg whites. I should have followed my instincts and not used it. The salt ruins the flavor of the meringue. I would definitely make this pie again, sans salt!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The filing was pretty good. But the meringue was pretty nasty. I ended up scraping off the top and remaking it with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I love it! It's fantastic! I never would have thought to put the meringue in the filling, but it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Mmmmmm. Good. Simple. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
i just made this pie today my husband and children loved it. i made one small change i added some lemon zest and used fresh lemon juice. it turned out perfectly,i will be making this pie again cookin in Baltimore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Disappointing; tasted store bought. Disgustingly sweet. After half a slice I'm left with a taste in my mouth like I gargled syrup. I had to brush my teeth to get rid of the sticky sweet taste. I went through a lot of work hoping for a nice homemade pie but it was a flop. The lemon filling was overly sweet and had a sticky taste. Texturally it was fine but it was dense and heavy. I'd prefer a lighter, creamier filling. The meringue turned out okay. It had some defects but more as a result of my inexperience with meringue as a topping than the recipe, although more detailed instructions would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I love the idea of mixing the meringue with the lemon curd, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abileo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had never made meringue before and though it wasn't perfect it was still delicious the first time. I've made it three times now and my last pie was perfect. Chill the meringue mixing bowl and make sure eggs are room temperature before mixing. I used 1/2 cup less sugar in the pie filling and it was still sweet and yummy. I also used a graham cracker pie crust instead of a traditional crust and put it in the freezer to set before adding pie filling. Have ingredients ready before starting cooking because there are a lot of steps. This recipe will most certainly be a friends and family favorite for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States