Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Made it, this was my first time ever to make a lemon meringue pie. My husband loved it. Says it is better than we buy in the freezer department.. Cool... Lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobbie Gale Windham
Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious. Needed a little more lemon flavor but other than that it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saltillo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is the recipe that has to be what my grandmother used. Tastes exactly the same. I like it a little bit more tart so I use more lemon juice. Great recipe. Thanks sooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Easy & delicious! I made this pie for my 8 year old son who LOVES lemon meringue pie. The only alteration I made was to add a little more sugar to the meringue. It seemed to help stiffen it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Tastes great, but WHY didn't the recipe say to BAKE THE FILLING FIRST? Ended up with a tasty, runny pie, guess I learned I am an amateur at meringue pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was a easy, fun, and non-messy thing to make for mothers day. i have not trieds it yet but it is in the oven right now and it looks delicious! I cant wait to eat it! hope my grandmother and my mom like it! Good Job Christine! keep up with the good recipies! -Jaime a.k.a KidsInTheKitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong - I followed the recipe to the letter but the lemon layer never "set." It was completely runny. Other recipes call for cornstarch or flour, but since this one didn't, I thought it would be fine. My meringue was perfect & overall, the taste was spot-on, but I'm terribly disappointed in the overall result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristenFreeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This pie is great. Thanks Christine. Just a reminder, to help get a great meringue make sure there are no traces of oil or grease on your mixing bowl or beaters and no egg yolk in your whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really liked this pie. It was easy to make, which is required for my baking. We followed a couple of the suggestions. 1) Bake in stages (crust for 10 min (we used regular crust, not graham), filling for 10 min, meringue for 10 min). 2) We used 4 egg whites for meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was excellent!!! I too doubled the amound of meringue, and put this in a 9-inch pie crust instead of graham cracker (my Dad's preference, since I made it for Father's Day). Everyone loved it and couldn't believe how easy it was to make! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States