Lemon Meringue Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was a big hit in my house. I do have to say that I baked this in a 13 x 9 pan and built off that. After it cooled I added the lemon filling and then I topped it with the meringue and finished it in the oven. After letting it refrigerate several hours we had no problem getting it to come out of the pan in nice square pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Torres
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Everyone loved it. And it was easier than I thought it would be to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very easy recipe (boxed cake, and box of lemon pie filling mix). I wish it was more lemony though, maybe double the pie filling and double the egg whites to make a fluffier topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This cake is absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
alot easier than it sounds! made it for Pastors Appreciation Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I am surprised that nobody has mentioned any problems with layering the cake yet. I followed the instructions exactly, and my pie filling kept coming out of the sides. Additionally, the layers were sliding around. So what I did was stake the layers with some chop sticks and stuck it in the fridge for a while, so the pie filling could harden up. After a while the pie filling stopped being pushed out and that is when I put the meringue on. Took the chop sticks out and stuck it in the oven immediately. I was hoping the meringue would seal the pie filling but it didn't. As soon as it got heated up, it was leaking to the bottom of the cake, making the cake look like a mess. Will never make this recipe again. The only change I made to the recipe was the meringue. I used a recipe that I use for my pie recipe that uses cornstarch, egg whites, sugar, salt, and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My family depends on me for dessert. And they depend on me to make it interesting and unusual. I made this cake for the family and and I was a rock star. They absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I found this to be challenging and it definitely took a while for the tips of the meringue to brown. I would probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgrad01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I just used the meringue part of the recipe and it was spectacular. What a beautiful presentaion for a cake! I also used a blow tourch instead of the oven, easier to control browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is so delicious! Didn't change a thing, perfect as is. Separate your eggs when they are cold and let the egg whites sit at room temperature for 30 minutes. They will have more fluff to them when you whip them. Add sugar only at the end in small amounts at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States