Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
There is just too much cornstarch in these. Cornstarch makes cookies melt in your mouth, but using this much just made them powdery and tasteless. They definitely need more lemon, either from extract or more juice or zest, and the frosting as-is does also. I tasted it and ended up adding lemon extract, so as not to thin it too much with juice. With the modified frosting they're more lemony, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I'm giving it three stars because of the icing, it was way too buttery. I ended up using my own recipe, which is more like a glaze but it adds more of a lemon flavor and was definitely an improvement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I followed the recipe exact and it was amazing!!! I did experiment a little. I was a very impatient so first batch I simply rolled the dough and baked it after making it, I didnt put the dough in the fridge. It was still amazing!! The second I did and it was still amazing but I didn't get a lot of cookies but thats OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Best eaten the day baked. I was ready to give them a 5 yesterday but didn't get around to it. Today they taste just a little off but still good. I tripled the zest in the cookie to ensure a strong lemon flavor. Used a lemon glaze instead of tbe buttercream. I think low ratings may be due in part to bakers using bottled lemon juice or lemon extract instead of fresh and/or not using zest. Use FRESH lemon people. There is no comparison. No problem with them crumbling; baked on parchment and cooled on the cookie sheet before moving them. Can't wait to try an orange version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
These cookies melt in your mouth. They are delicious. I left mine in the refrigerator over night, then baked them the next morning. I had no problem with crumbling. I left them on the pan for. Few minutes and then transferred them to my counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
While this recipe is out of this world, I believe credit needs to go to LAND O LAKES Butter. That's where I found it back in the late 90's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Such a great cookie. My mom used to make these years ago and I was so happy to find the recipe. I had zero problems with my cookies crumbling apart. I rolled my logs thinner and cut the slices a little bigger. After exactly 11 minutes on parchment paper in the oven they were perfect. Will definitely be making these for Christmas. Just make sure cookies cool completely before frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made the cookies as written and they were pretty plain tasting on their own which was fine because of the addition of icing. Left them to cool completely on the cookie sheets and then crumbling was not a problem at all. I don't care for buttercream icing, however, so I made a lemon icing using tbsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup icing sugar and 1-2tbsp milk until I got a runny texture. It was quite tangy (which I wanted) and hardened up perfectly! We'll make more for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Love these! I definitely didn't get 4 dozen out of this recipe and I made my cookies rather small so next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is the best lemon cookie recipe I have ever made. I made them in small bite sized cookies and the were so delicate and tasty, just the right amount of lemon flavor if you add a little more zest and juice in both the batter and the icing. Using fresh lemon is the best too. Quality ingredients make good treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States