Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I love cookies but this recipe was really not so good. Not very sweet, even though I added quite a bit of confectioner's sugar to the frosting. I had to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are really delicious! No problem with crumbling if you let them sit on the baking sheet for a few minutes before moving them to a cooling rack - also, don't overcook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
they kept falling apart and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are my all-time favorite cookie and I've probably made 30+ batches of them over the years, always to rave reviews and requests for the recipe (which I forgot today so I'm on the site printing a copy). I do make a few minor recipe modifications. Ingredients: use FRESH lemon juice and up the amount of lemon zest in the dough. This provides extra lemon flavor. The icing also requires 1 Tablespoon of FRESH lemon juice (and more zest) and some additional confectioners’ sugar to obtain the right consistency / taste. How much additional will vary based on the humidity in the air, but start with 2 additional tablespoons and go from there. (I made these yesterday while it was pouring rain and it required 4+ additional tablespoons) Technique: For the dough, beat the butter very well by itself before adding the additional ingredients. The cookies are extremely delicate when hot but firm up nicely as they cool. I leave them on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before moving to the cooling rack and have no problems with crumbling. It should be noted that these cookies will not brown as most cookies do - if you wait for browning, the cookies will be overcooked / burnt. For easier transporting, frost cookies and leave on the cooling rack overnight. The icing firms up and you can pack them with wax paper between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
They fell apart when I removed them from the cookie sheet and tasted bland. I was able to salvage less than 1/2 of the cookies. I frosted them & they tasted a tad better. However, I will not make again. (I am not a novice baker, I'm a senior citizen and have been baking for over 55 years.) Even my husband, who eats anything, did not care for them. I will put a few out on my Christmas trays anyway. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
They are extremely crumbly and have very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These are among my family's favorite cookies. They taste best when made with organic ingredients. There is a huge difference in taste between organic lemons and cornstarch and regular versions of these ingredients. Also I put the frosting in a plastic bag, then cut of the tip and pipe a little dab on the top of each cookie. It's much easier than frosting them and looks nicer, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Really delicious! The cookie isn't at all sweet, but it is buttery and crisp and really melts in your mouth like the name says. I can imagine them as a wonderful "tea party" cookie. However, for a Christmas cookie, it isn't ideal. I thought the icing would be something I could drizzle on and it would harden, but mine turned out very fluffy and buttercream-like and has to be spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I really didn't care for them, they were just "OK". However, I didn't make the frosting because I made them to eat with a lemon curd, so it is possible that they would be much better if I had frosted them. As it was they were flavorless on their own but "too much" with the curd. lol - prolly more my fault than the recipe though - so I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States