Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Best eaten the day baked. I was ready to give them a 5 yesterday but didn't get around to it. Today they taste just a little off but still good. I tripled the zest in the cookie to ensure a strong lemon flavor. Used a lemon glaze instead of tbe buttercream. I think low ratings may be due in part to bakers using bottled lemon juice or lemon extract instead of fresh and/or not using zest. Use FRESH lemon people. There is no comparison. No problem with them crumbling; baked on parchment and cooled on the cookie sheet before moving them. Can't wait to try an orange version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
These cookies melt in your mouth. They are delicious. I left mine in the refrigerator over night, then baked them the next morning. I had no problem with crumbling. I left them on the pan for. Few minutes and then transferred them to my counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
While this recipe is out of this world, I believe credit needs to go to LAND O LAKES Butter. That's where I found it back in the late 90's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Such a great cookie. My mom used to make these years ago and I was so happy to find the recipe. I had zero problems with my cookies crumbling apart. I rolled my logs thinner and cut the slices a little bigger. After exactly 11 minutes on parchment paper in the oven they were perfect. Will definitely be making these for Christmas. Just make sure cookies cool completely before frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made the cookies as written and they were pretty plain tasting on their own which was fine because of the addition of icing. Left them to cool completely on the cookie sheets and then crumbling was not a problem at all. I don't care for buttercream icing, however, so I made a lemon icing using tbsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup icing sugar and 1-2tbsp milk until I got a runny texture. It was quite tangy (which I wanted) and hardened up perfectly! We'll make more for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Love these! I definitely didn't get 4 dozen out of this recipe and I made my cookies rather small so next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is the best lemon cookie recipe I have ever made. I made them in small bite sized cookies and the were so delicate and tasty, just the right amount of lemon flavor if you add a little more zest and juice in both the batter and the icing. Using fresh lemon is the best too. Quality ingredients make good treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
these were quite good :) i prefer a stronger lemon taste myself but my hubby liked them :) i'm going to make them again but i'll play around with the recipe to see if i can give them some "wow" factor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I read all the reviews about how hard they were to make because of the crumbling. So when I made mine, I was very careful when rollign the dough to ensure no cracks or air pockets. chilled slightly, then rolled again (used the plastic wrap when rolling both times). I was also very careful when baking. I used the air-insulated cookie sheet and baked 10 minutes. Waited a minute or two before using a thin metal spatula to carefully transfer to the cooling rack. No problems at all with breakage. I added a little extra sugar to the dough. I did use a tad extra lemon zest and fresh lemon is a must for the juice and zest. I also sprinkled some zest onto the top of the frosted cookies. Taste was amazing. A 1.5" roll makes a good sized cookie (1-2 bites). One batch made 40 cookies and when I took them to a meeting, people couldn't keep away--6 of us polished them all off by noon. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *sara*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These are excellent cookies! Tender, melt in your mouth citrusy bursts of flavor that dance on your tongue... and an EASY recipe. We favor lime over lemon, so I made with lime instead. I adjusted the recipe for 65 via the calculator and the only other change I made was to add 4 drops of lime oil to the dough, and to add 2 drops lime oil and 1/4 tsp coconut extract to the frosting. Per PP, I added ALL the zest from 1 lime to the dough. I see a lot of folks had trouble with cookies crumbling. Be sure you sift your flour before measuring as that alone can make a big difference in the outcome. I also bake all my cookies on parchment paper, which I then transfer, paper and all, to the cooling rack after allowing them to cool on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes. While the recipe was adjusted for 65 cookies, it actually made 25. But that is fine for me, if I made more then I would eat all of those too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States