Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I was a little worried when I first made these. I tried some of the dough before baked and it was not palatable. I baked it and it was still not all that good but when I put the icing on it thats what made it. I ended up being really pleased with this recipe. I did however end up making 2x the icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very yummy. And buttery. I usually skimp on butter, but my boyfriend made these and so followed the recipe as it was written. The butter does give them a melt away feeling. The lemon frosting is yummy. I thought that it looked like too much when it was in the bowl, but after icing the cookies, they turned out perfect when tasted. Didn't use food coloring in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I am not usually one to leave a bad review, but these cookies tasted very strongly of cornstarch. So much so, in fact, that I checked the recipe to be sure I hadn't goofed up and put 1/2 a cup when it called for considerably less. Unfortunately, I found I did not goof up. I followed the directions to the letter, with no success. I am really wondering if there is a way to fix that? The frosting isn't bad. A little sugary, but I added a tiny bit more lemon juice, and a small amount more zest and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Love these! Very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These cookies were not good at all, tasteless...as my daughter said "these are not worthy of your chrismas cookie platter"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great taste. Too easy to eat! I cut them a bit too thick and some didn't brown but awesome none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome cookies, lemon is subtle, and they definitely do melt in your mouth. Didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rouses Point, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These cookies are very good and very addictive. I actually found this recipe a long time ago on another website. I am not a baker and not a very good one but these are really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very delicate and delicious! I have made these for work events, holiday parties and gifts and people always ask for the recipe. Chilling the dough over night definitely helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Very good cookie - very light and flaky. A dainty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States