Lemon Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I like lemon chicken, but this recipe is a joke. I always try recipes as printed first and then alter to my tastes if necessary. By the time I alter this one it will barely resemble the original. There is far to much lemon zest. I would also replace the vinegar with white wine, reduce the amount of oregano, add some basil, garlic and about 1/4 cup of oil. I would then grill rather than bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I love lemon, but 1/2 cup of zest is definately a typo. I used about 1 tablespoon, and the chicken was still almost too lemony. I also added a couple of cloves of minced garlic and a little olive oil as we grilled the chicken after marinating for several hours. It was very moist and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2005
do not use 1/4 cup of zest as stated. I used 1/2 tbs and it came out with a great zip to it. my fiancee thought it was perfect! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These are great! I cooked them in the oven for about 20 mins covered with tin foil, in the marinade, and then removed them and finished them off on the BBQ. That way, they soaked up all the yummy flavour from the marinade, plus they had that fab grilled taste. Yum!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Moist and flavorful. I did use less lemon zest than called for and next time would add a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
good recipe but i think i'll grill the chicken next time and use just a bit less lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
The lemon and oregano was way too over powering. I'll stick with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
The lemon zest and oregano are absolutely over-powering! I added some garlic and a little olive oil, and would definitely recommend reducing the oregano to 3 tsp at most. Not memorable at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I think this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I did not enjoy this! Sour oregano taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, New York, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States